Jump to content

Photo
- - - - -

Module: Visual House Positions


  • Please log in to reply
61 replies to this topic
Thread Starter
Grizzle
Grizzle

    Staff Sergeant

  • Members
  • 368 posts

  • Joined: 29-July 2007

Posted 17 July 2010 - 02:18 #1

UPDATED

09/06/2010
Cleaned up the hint box a bit by separating some values.
Added two new action menu items:


  • Save Init Code - Copies to clipboard a preformatted line of code meant to be placed in the initialization of a unit/object
  • Save Buffer - Copies to clipboard ALL of the entries you have saved using Save Position and Save Init Code.

Fixed minor bug when module unloaded.

08/30/2010
Added more info to hint box.
Added action menu item so you can save your current position to the clipboard.
Fixed the return index values of the house position (thanks callihn.)
Works with Arma2/OA/CO.

Attn: Mission Makers.

(note: this video is from the first version)

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/4SZm-K18cpc&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/4SZm-K18cpc&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

Self explanatory :)

To Use:

- Install gzl_vhp.pbo to your mods folder and add it to your launch shortcut.
- While in editor, use the module function to drop a GZL: Visual House Positions module on the map. No need to sync.
- Preview the mission.
- Move near a house and the position markers will be created
- The hint box displays:


  • Closest City/Town
  • Distance to the City/Town
  • Your current position ASL
  • House Object ID
  • House Model Name
  • Total number of positions in the house
  • Number of the position on which you are currently standing.

While standing on the position you want, use the action menu to 'Save Position'. The information you see inthe hint box is then copied to the clipboard. Paste it into something before you save another position.

When your mission is complete and/or ready to be distributed, remove the module from the map before packing it into a PBO.

To use the info for placing units or weapons:


  • Place the unit or object on the map near the building in which you want to place it.
  • Preview the map and find your building position.
  • Use the action menu and select Save Init Code.
  • Suspend the preview and double click the unit you just placed.
  • Put your cursor in the Initialization box and hit ctrl-v on your keyboard.

(Thanks to Das Attorney for noting that nearestObject takes the ID as an argument! Learn something new everyday. Check out his post on page 4 for some more usage suggestions.) :)

Note: The preformatted code is the bare minimum. You may need to add some additional commands to set the object correctly such as doStop for units so they won't wander away. When using this code make sure your units are near the location you want to place them. Arma will complain about performance impact of searching by object ID over large distances (> 500m).

Note: The buffer accumulates all saves until you suspend the map. You can mix 'Save Position' and 'Save Init Code' if you want. When you dump the buffer it clears itself. Unfortunately I don't know of a way to format data using the arma clipboard command without using an external program so you'll have to parse or cut and paste your selections out of the resulting text string. It's output from an array so it is at least a comma separated list.

Hope someone finds it useful. Feedback and suggestions for improvements are always welcome.

Download @ Armaholic

Edited by W0lle, 08 November 2011 - 04:19.
Download link fixed so people must not read too much


Kristian
Kristian

    Sergeant Major

  • Members
  • 1751 posts

  • Joined: 14-August 2006

Posted 17 July 2010 - 02:20 #2

This sounds really useful, need to give this a shot someday :)
Posted Image

Fox '09
Fox '09

    Chief Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 3327 posts

  • Joined: 05-June 2009

Posted 17 July 2010 - 02:26 #3

WOw bouncing balls inside buildings cool stuff dude !!!! donwloading



nice , gona give it a shot :)

Due-_-
Due-_-

    Banned

  • 246 posts

  • Joined: 06-October 2009

Posted 17 July 2010 - 02:27 #4

Very nice idea Grizzle... we do need more "simple" but useful addons like this so missionbuilding gets more and more stressless :)
Bolt action! klakklam poi! klakklam poi! klakklam poi!

das attorney
das attorney

    Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 2955 posts

  • Joined: 27-October 2009

Posted 17 July 2010 - 02:31 #5

I can't find a link to download it anywhere on this page.
Oblig sig

Due-_-
Due-_-

    Banned

  • 246 posts

  • Joined: 06-October 2009

Posted 17 July 2010 - 02:33 #6

I can't find a link to download it anywhere on this page.


Well fox uses his HaXx0R skilLZ :D
Bolt action! klakklam poi! klakklam poi! klakklam poi!

Thread Starter
Grizzle
Grizzle

    Staff Sergeant

  • Members
  • 368 posts

  • Joined: 29-July 2007

Posted 17 July 2010 - 02:38 #7

I can't find a link to download it anywhere on this page.


LOL oops.. it's there now. :yay:

das attorney
das attorney

    Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 2955 posts

  • Joined: 27-October 2009

Posted 17 July 2010 - 02:52 #8

Thank you very much. :)

I've given this a quick whirl in the editor and it's really useful. I'm working on a mission at the moment (just for fun) in Zargabad and this will speed up working out which positions to place OPFOR forces in.

A very elegant solution to the problem.
Oblig sig

muttly
muttly

    Staff Sergeant

  • Members
  • 208 posts

  • Joined: 16-May 2009

Posted 17 July 2010 - 13:57 #9

Good job mate think my enemy snipers will enjoy this :D

Manzilla
Manzilla

    First Lieutenant

  • Members
  • 5142 posts

  • Joined: 30-May 2007

Posted 17 July 2010 - 15:09 #10

Wow, extremely useful. Thanks!
:coop: :yay::yay::yay: (God damn bananas..... again)

Join the most rootin', tootin'est crew on these here forums! That's right folks we're darn tootin'.

Mike Tyson's ode to Manzilla's SP playing style:

My style is impetuous. My defense is impregnable and I'm just ferocious.... I want your heart, I want to eat his children! Praise be to Allah!


hellfire257
hellfire257

    Master Gunnery Sergeant

  • Members
  • 1267 posts

  • Joined: 17-February 2009

Posted 17 July 2010 - 15:39 #11

Really useful, thanks =)

Nightrain
Nightrain

    Gunnery Sergeant

  • Members
  • 444 posts

  • Joined: 11-March 2010

Posted 17 July 2010 - 16:45 #12

As a mission editer I thank you greatly for this :D

Release frontpaged on the Armaholic homepage.

Posted Image
Visual House Positon Module



Imutep
Imutep

    Master Gunnery Sergeant

  • Members
  • 1365 posts

  • Joined: 07-February 2006

Posted 17 July 2010 - 16:56 #13

Thx for the module! :)
Put it on our editing section at Assault Mission Studio.
Posted Image
Visual House Positions by Grizzle
Posted Image
Assault Mission Studio - German Mission Editing && Scripting Website

kylania
kylania

    Lieutenant Colonel

  • Members
  • 8281 posts

  • Joined: 20-May 2009

Posted 17 July 2010 - 17:10 #14

Wow, this is just fantastic, thanks so much!

MugAben
MugAben

    Retired Member

  • Banned
  • 384 posts

  • Joined: 07-June 2009

Posted 17 July 2010 - 17:44 #15

Good stuff! :) :yay:

gnarly_rider
gnarly_rider

    Staff Sergeant

  • Members
  • 319 posts

  • Joined: 24-October 2008

Posted 18 July 2010 - 12:53 #16

Very handy indeed :yay::yay:

Andreas_Toast
Andreas_Toast

    Private

  • Members
  • 8 posts

  • Joined: 16-December 2006

Posted 18 July 2010 - 21:26 #17

Awesome Tool !:bounce3:

Feedback to your Questions if its working in Arma2 : In Arma2 Standalone Hint is created, Number of Positions is shown and House ID. Marker for position and on which position you stand not.

mcnools
mcnools

    First Sergeant

  • Members
  • 977 posts

  • Joined: 22-December 2003

Posted 18 July 2010 - 21:41 #18

Great idea man, and very very useful!
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
also creating some sounds.

muttly
muttly

    Staff Sergeant

  • Members
  • 208 posts

  • Joined: 16-May 2009

Posted 18 July 2010 - 22:09 #19

Guys can you help me with the code please just give me rough template.

Trying put snipers in building i take it i can just type in the init box of the unit

this setpos ???? ????

Then iam stuck lol

I take it i have to put the house id then the position but not sure how i type the code:o

gnarly_rider
gnarly_rider

    Staff Sergeant

  • Members
  • 319 posts

  • Joined: 24-October 2008

Posted 18 July 2010 - 22:22 #20

Guys can you help me with the code please just give me rough template.

Trying put snipers in building i take it i can just type in the init box of the unit

this setpos ???? ????

Then iam stuck lol

I take it i have to put the house id then the position but not sure how i type the code:o


this setPos ((nearestBuilding this) buildingPos 6)

Works for the nearest building to the units location. Note though that the buildingpos number you type and the one displayed by this tool don't necessarily correlate (check the Wiki notes for this command for known issues)