Jump to content

Photo
- - - - -

Binarize problem


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic
Thread Starter
DMarkwick
DMarkwick

    Major

  • Members
  • 7298 posts

Posted 23 September 2009 - 11:13 #1

I can PBO my addon (using Kegetys' PBO tool) fine and it works ingame. However when I use the BinPBO tool to binarize it I get a lot of this in the .rpt file and the addon doesn't work:
Warning Message: Cannot load texture jtd_fireandsmoke\images\smoke0.paa.
Warning Message: Cannot load texture jtd_fireandsmoke\images\smoke1.paa.
Warning Message: Cannot load texture jtd_fireandsmoke\images\smoke2.paa.
Warning Message: Cannot load texture jtd_fireandsmoke\images\smoke3.paa.
Warning Message: Cannot load texture jtd_fireandsmoke\images\smoke4.paa.
Warning Message: Cannot load texture jtd_fireandsmoke\images\smoke5.paa.
Warning Message: Cannot load texture jtd_fireandsmoke\images\smoke6.paa.
Warning Message: Cannot load texture jtd_fireandsmoke\images\smoke7.paa.
Warning Message: Cannot load texture jtd_fireandsmoke\images\smoke8.paa.
Warning Message: Cannot load texture jtd_fireandsmoke\images\smoke9.paa.
Warning Message: Cannot load texture jtd_fireandsmoke\images\smoke10.paa.
Warning Message: Cannot load texture jtd_fireandsmoke\images\smoke11.paa.
Warning Message: Cannot load texture jtd_fireandsmoke\images\smoke12.paa.
Warning Message: Cannot load texture jtd_fireandsmoke\images\smoke13.paa.
Warning Message: Cannot load texture jtd_fireandsmoke\images\smoke14.paa.
Warning Message: Cannot load texture jtd_fireandsmoke\images\smoke15.paa.
Warning Message: Cannot load texture jtd_fireandsmoke\images\smoke16.paa.
Warning Message: Cannot load texture jtd_fireandsmoke\images\smoke17.paa.
Warning Message: Cannot load texture jtd_fireandsmoke\images\smokegeneric1.paa.
Warning Message: Cannot load texture jtd_fireandsmoke\images\smokegeneric2.paa.
Warning Message: Cannot load texture jtd_fireandsmoke\images\flame1anim.paa.
Warning Message: Cannot load texture jtd_fireandsmoke\images\flame2anim.paa.
Warning Message: Cannot load texture jtd_fireandsmoke\images\birds1.paa.

and ingame I also get the same message about not finding the scripts. What can be the problem here? I'm not signing it, just binarizing it.


*edit*
Oh, and apparently, the addon is now tiny (55kb) whereas it should be about 4mb or so. I guess there's a something I'm not doing right to compress all those scripts & textures into the PBO file.

*edit 2*
OK, I was trying to binarize in situ (dev folder in ArmA2 game folder), I moved the folder across to my Z: drive (my virtual ArmA tools drive) and now at least the images binarize. But now I'm just missing the scripts and sounds. In fact I'm missing the Scripts & Sounds folders, not just the files.

Edited by DMarkwick, 23 September 2009 - 11:35.

Feel like ArmA is letting you down in some way? Watch this:
https://www.youtube....h?v=Fh3webkCo4Y

Thread Starter
DMarkwick
DMarkwick

    Major

  • Members
  • 7298 posts

Posted 23 September 2009 - 12:27 #2

Thanks Snake Man :) that was the problem, I hadn't specified any file types. I didn't see anywhere on the "manual" where it was a requirement. I mean, it binarized the *.paa files without me mentioning them (once I'd transferred the project into Z: ), I just thought it might automatically binarize anything it recognised. Oh well, problem solved it seems, thanks :)

Edited by DMarkwick, 23 September 2009 - 12:56.

Feel like ArmA is letting you down in some way? Watch this:
https://www.youtube....h?v=Fh3webkCo4Y