spookygnu

10 steps using Opentopography to L3dt

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwGVkyqKfsc0VjhuQ2FqbExFOEk/view

above is a link to my google drive document I created to help people who want to use Opentopography and L3dt to create a real world location for the Arma series. 

If you have any more questions, I'll be happy to help "as much as I can". I'm no expert but I put this together using a method I found simple enough for even the newest of the new of map creators. Plus with the addition of the Terrain processor being in Dev and testing stages, I can only see more people joining in on the map making trip. 

Post your queries here and I'm sure eagle eyes will be able to answer. 

cheers 

spook.

The document is very useful  and should be of great help to those wanting to create their own maps.

One thing I did notice is that in your document you mention that one of the links is 30 m US data and the global one is 90 m

The site specifies

so i think 30 m is global as well.

I purchased arma3 in July and have started creating my first terrain here   https://forums.bistudio.com/topic/184560-wip-the-rhodesian-bush-war/

I pretty much have mastered the steps in your document and can get all the maps and textures in to L3DT professional.......

however I have spent 3 days so far trying to go the next step after L3DT and have pretty much stalled there.... have tried CAPTNCAPS youtube tutorials with little success.

Do you know of any easy to follow tutorials that will go through the steps I need to go from L3Dt to where I can use the editor to start placing objects in the map.

There are so many tutorials out there and each one has not ended with my getting the same results as seen in the tutorial.

I think if there was a step by step guide with sample files available we would see a lot more people creating new maps for arma 3.

Jakerods "The Atlas" tutorial is by far the best introduction to A3 terrains and the new tools...