Jump to content

Photo
- - - - -

Overclocking system for ArmA 3


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
8 replies to this topic
Thread Starter
Chipper
Chipper

    Gunnery Sergeant

  • Members
  • 478 posts

  • Joined: 21-May 2004

Posted 22 March 2013 - 18:49 #1

Just wondering if anyone else has overclocked their system (CPU/GPU/RAM) specifically to help run ArmA 3 and what results you had.

As for myself, I've seen HUGE gains after I OC'd my CPU and RAM. Brought new life to my old system. Now reconsidering if I need to build a new PC for ArmA 3.

Spec's:
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @ 3.0GHz - OC'd to 4.0GHz (Got the biggest FPS gain from this, 10-15 more FPS)

8GB DDR2 RAM @ 800MHz - OC'd to 1066 (Noticeable gain of about 5-6 FPS after increasing the clock speed of my RAM)

GTX 580 1.5GB - Had the smallest gains after OCing the GPU, pretty much not worth it due to stability issues.

Also running ArmA 3 from a 128GB SSD.


I haven't had a chance to run a real benchmark on ArmA 3, but the Arma 2 benchmark #1 went from 31-34 FPS to 55 FPS.

stk2008
stk2008

    Sergeant Major

  • Members
  • 1504 posts

  • Joined: 12-November 2009

Posted 22 March 2013 - 19:52 #2

For some people overclocking should not be reqiured as said its an engine problem just see if they fix that first then once they have done every thing possible I may look into OC

AlliedMayhem
AlliedMayhem

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 2 posts

  • Joined: 23-March 2013

Posted 23 March 2013 - 01:00 #3

I have gotten excellent results overclocking my i5-2500k from 3.3 to 4.5ghz. I'd say I have almost double the FPS on high / ultra settings.

My current issue is that anytime I'm playing online, my FPS starts out good. However, after a while (30min to an hour), it will start to spike up and down making the game almost unplayable. :( I'd prefer a stable 20fps than getting spikes of 10/15 from 30+

Not sure what to do... :confused:

nicolasroger
nicolasroger

    Staff Sergeant

  • Members
  • 316 posts

  • Joined: 05-July 2009

Posted 23 March 2013 - 04:01 #4

I OCed my phenom X4 940 BE from 3.0 to 3.2
Not much but I prioritized stability over anything. Not much differene in the game either obviously.
Specs:
Spoiler

Twin2Win
Twin2Win

    Sergeant

  • Members
  • 133 posts

  • Joined: 03-October 2012

Posted 23 March 2013 - 04:10 #5

It's better to just upgrade. OCing lowers your hardware life and if you screw up it can do a lot of damage. Just upgrade your rig, it may cost more, but its safer and will last longer.

h.IV+-I.esus-
h.IV+-I.esus-

    Private First Class

  • Members
  • 40 posts

  • Joined: 15-May 2009

Posted 23 March 2013 - 07:05 #6

It's better to just upgrade. OCing lowers your hardware life and if you screw up it can do a lot of damage. Just upgrade your rig, it may cost more, but its safer and will last longer.


It may 'lower' hardware life, but most PC gamers/enthusiasts upgrade their hardware long before the point in time where an overclocked chip will crap itself.
I had an overclocked i7 920 for 4.5 years and it's still going strong... now being used in its overclocked state as part of my gf's PC.

These days, assuming you have adequate cooling, it's pretty hard to screw up an overclock.
The worst thing most people would experience is a bluescreen on boot or a failure in a stress testing program like OCCT or Linx, in which case, go back to your BIOS and try again! :P

Empire1337
Empire1337

    Private First Class

  • Members
  • 13 posts

  • Joined: 14-May 2011

Posted 23 March 2013 - 07:18 #7

Spoiler



If I were you, I would upgrade the CPU, Motherboard and RAM.

Correct me if I am completey wrong, but, at the moment
I do believe that the CPU is bottlenecking the GPU, this might be one of the reasons of why.

Razorman
Razorman

    Sergeant

  • Members
  • 160 posts

  • Joined: 28-May 2009

Posted 23 March 2013 - 09:03 #8

There is no engine problem, the problem is this is a very demanding engine, it will eat weaksauce cpu's for breakfast, u need a rig like my sig to run it even close to well.

Intel i53570k @ 4.4GHZ
GeForce 670 GTX
16GB DDR3 @ 2400mhz (8GB Ram Drive)
4 x 500GB Raptor SATA
Windows 7
Asus 25.5" Monitor
X-Fi Extreme Sound


-FRL-Myke
-FRL-Myke

    Moderator

  • 6571 posts

  • Joined: 27-May 2007

Posted 23 March 2013 - 10:21 #9

For discussions if and how which hardware under which conditions runs the game fine, we do have a dedicated thread. Please use it, thank you.