Jump to content

Photo
- - - - -

How to change Arma 3 branches between STABLE & DEVELOPMENT versions @STEAM client


  • Please log in to reply
122 replies to this topic
Thread Starter
Dwarden
Dwarden

    BI Developer

  • 9654 posts

  • Joined: 05-March 2002
  • LocationBrno, Czech Republic

Posted 07 March 2013 - 17:42 #1

All installs are set to the stable version of the game by default.


To change this:
  • 1. In your Steam client, go to the Library and right (mouse button) click on Arma 3
  • 2. Select Properties (from context menu)
  • [ATTACH=CONFIG]187[/ATTACH]
  • 3. Select the Betas tab
    [ATTACH=CONFIG]188[/ATTACH]
  • 4. 4.Choose either NONE for the Stable version or DEVelopment for the release candidate version of the game
  • 5.Click Close in the lower-right corner of the window


Using the development version of the game could hamper your experience with the game,
with some unfinished assets available.

However, we would greatly appreciate your feedback.

We intend this to involve you more directly in the development process
and give you the opportunity to affect the final game.

Your feedback and bug reports are welcome
and can help us to improve the game significantly.

Please visit http://feedback.arma3.com/

to learn how to submit feedback.


Thank you kindly for your support!

The default version will get updated only after we put it through internal QA. The Development branch will soon become a frequently updated branch by all of our developers: programmers, encoders, artists, designers and more. This may cause it to not work one day and work very well the next, it may contain experimental features, a sneak peak at new content, etc. If you do not want to bother with the risk of a more broken version, you're advised to stick with the default. The DEV Hub will become the source of updates and hopefully changelogs. I believe the first publications to this branch are coming up later today.


video tutorial http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O2n0vZg4_AY
from http://forums.bistud...Testing-Servers

Edited by Dwarden, 10 February 2015 - 17:54.

RealTimeChat ~ARMA2 in Your browser (w/o Java), RealTimeChat ~ARMA3 in Your browser (w/o Java),
irc.GameSurge.net/ARMA2 (external IRC clients) irc.GameSurge.net/ARMA3 (external IRC clients)
ARMA 3 Feedback Tracker: http://feedback.arma...y_view_page.php
~100k fans @STEAM ARMA 2 + ARMA 2: OA + ARMA 3: + ~2k @XFIRE A2:OA
Follow my Twitter: http://twitter.com/FoltynD or my Facebook http://facebook.com/FoltynD


Thread Starter
Dwarden
Dwarden

    BI Developer

  • 9654 posts

  • Joined: 05-March 2002
  • LocationBrno, Czech Republic

Posted 11 March 2013 - 19:42 #2

for announces about changes:

http://forums.bistud...ranch-changelog

remember it might be more buggy / less stable for some ..

Edited by Dwarden, 12 March 2013 - 17:44.

RealTimeChat ~ARMA2 in Your browser (w/o Java), RealTimeChat ~ARMA3 in Your browser (w/o Java),
irc.GameSurge.net/ARMA2 (external IRC clients) irc.GameSurge.net/ARMA3 (external IRC clients)
ARMA 3 Feedback Tracker: http://feedback.arma...y_view_page.php
~100k fans @STEAM ARMA 2 + ARMA 2: OA + ARMA 3: + ~2k @XFIRE A2:OA
Follow my Twitter: http://twitter.com/FoltynD or my Facebook http://facebook.com/FoltynD


Defunkt
Defunkt

    Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 2254 posts

  • Joined: 13-April 2008

Posted 11 March 2013 - 21:48 #3

* merges from Arma 2: Operation Arrowhead beta / Take On Helicopters

This is really exciting to see so soon (and in an official form). Are there any details on how best to make use of it or is it simply support for the practice of introducing A2 pbo's via -mod= as is already being done?

DeThiCa
DeThiCa

    Private First Class

  • Members
  • 29 posts

  • Joined: 17-September 2012

Posted 11 March 2013 - 22:03 #4

This is really exciting to see so soon (and in an official form). Are there any details on how best to make use of it or is it simply support for the practice of introducing A2 pbo's via -mod= as is already being done?


I think Dwarden means merges from the OA 1.63 fixes/features and some more from TOH.
Not related to in-game content.

Defunkt
Defunkt

    Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 2254 posts

  • Joined: 13-April 2008

Posted 11 March 2013 - 22:09 #5

Ah right, I guess after reading elsewhere that there's something planned for A2 content merging, my body was... well, ready.

Thread Starter
Dwarden
Dwarden

    BI Developer

  • 9654 posts

  • Joined: 05-March 2002
  • LocationBrno, Czech Republic

Posted 11 March 2013 - 22:15 #6

Ah right, I guess after reading elsewhere that there's something planned for A2 content merging, my body was... well, ready.


yes it mean engines fixes / additions / tweaks etc. from recent OA beta / TOH builds

RealTimeChat ~ARMA2 in Your browser (w/o Java), RealTimeChat ~ARMA3 in Your browser (w/o Java),
irc.GameSurge.net/ARMA2 (external IRC clients) irc.GameSurge.net/ARMA3 (external IRC clients)
ARMA 3 Feedback Tracker: http://feedback.arma...y_view_page.php
~100k fans @STEAM ARMA 2 + ARMA 2: OA + ARMA 3: + ~2k @XFIRE A2:OA
Follow my Twitter: http://twitter.com/FoltynD or my Facebook http://facebook.com/FoltynD


Nouty
Nouty

    Sergeant

  • Members
  • 192 posts

  • Joined: 07-August 2009

Posted 11 March 2013 - 22:37 #7

How exactly do the updates for Arma 3 alpha work? Will the "stable" alpha get updated to another "stable" version once such has been determined, or will it remain the same through the whole alpha phase of development and only be updated through the dev builds?

NeuroFunker
NeuroFunker

    Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 2207 posts

  • Joined: 27-August 2011

Posted 11 March 2013 - 22:52 #8

yes it mean engines fixes / additions / tweaks etc. from recent OA beta / TOH builds


can't wait, tomorrow?
Posted Image

I just dropped an IFV from 3,000 feet in the air. You know what happened? That's right, absolutely nothing. It hit the ground at 150 km/h, landed upright, and the AI driver kept right on trucking without a bit of damage.


But BIS! You have promised "The most realistic simulation game!" ;)

grillob3
grillob3

    Gunnery Sergeant

  • Members
  • 575 posts

  • Joined: 19-July 2010

Posted 11 March 2013 - 22:56 #9

Ah right, I guess after reading elsewhere that there's something planned for A2 content merging, my body was... well, ready.


Where did you read that?

Sniperwolf572
Sniperwolf572

    Chief Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 3062 posts

  • Joined: 23-February 2004

Posted 11 March 2013 - 23:08 #10

How exactly do the updates for Arma 3 alpha work? Will the "stable" alpha get updated to another "stable" version once such has been determined, or will it remain the same through the whole alpha phase of development and only be updated through the dev builds?


Basically the information from BI is:

stable (not opted into any betas) - A build must pass through QA before being pushed to this branch
development - They plan to let anyone from the dev team push to this branch whenever they feel like it
Posted Image

Defunkt
Defunkt

    Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 2254 posts

  • Joined: 13-April 2008

Posted 11 March 2013 - 23:26 #11

Where did you read that?

Well it appeared heavily inferred HERE by non other than Dwarden himself though now that this first patch has appeared we might have been reading too much into it.

Aside from that though DnA had already said HERE that "We are working on an officially supported approach for later (similar to TKOH's Rearmed)."

rhyswilliams999
rhyswilliams999

    Corporal

  • Members
  • 69 posts

  • Joined: 30-April 2011

Posted 12 March 2013 - 00:33 #12

I'm finding that if you are hosting, people without the dev patch cannot join. clients joining get stuck just before being able to pick a slot.

daze23
daze23

    Staff Sergeant

  • Members
  • 367 posts

  • Joined: 31-October 2012

Posted 12 March 2013 - 02:02 #13

having a multiplayer game with multiple versions being played is nothing new. but usually there's a way to tell if you have the same version as the server you're trying to join...

grillob3
grillob3

    Gunnery Sergeant

  • Members
  • 575 posts

  • Joined: 19-July 2010

Posted 12 March 2013 - 03:07 #14

Well it appeared heavily inferred HERE by non other than Dwarden himself though now that this first patch has appeared we might have been reading too much into it.

Aside from that though DnA had already said HERE that "We are working on an officially supported approach for later (similar to TKOH's Rearmed)."


Thanks!Good to know! Bc all the arma 2 maps ( including user made) looks good on arma 3 besides the bugs!

zorrobyte
zorrobyte

    Staff Sergeant

  • Members
  • 356 posts

  • Joined: 04-February 2011

Posted 12 March 2013 - 03:36 #15

I'm finding that if you are hosting, people without the dev patch cannot join. clients joining get stuck just before being able to pick a slot.


Click OK and join a slot. May work or it'll download mission w/o selecting slot.

dna
dna

    BI Developer

  • 1705 posts

  • Joined: 08-January 2002

Posted 12 March 2013 - 09:30 #16

Sniperwolf described it accurately: the default branch will pass through QA before we publish it. We do not promise an exact delivery schedule, but it's more on the order of every two weeks for example.

The Development branch has no limits; any of our team members is able to push out any part of the game at the moment. This means it has the potential to get updated every minute if our team is feeling particularly keen :) This has the high risk of resulting in versions on the Development branch that are malfunctioning (parts of it or even entirely). Any QA we introduce in this branch, means we have to sacrifice flexibility and it will end up becoming days between updates, to the point where the branch loses its use. If you are not wanting to deal with these risks, we recommend you do not participate in this branch.

Note: we are specifically working on a solution for potential troubles of Development branch not spilling over onto default branch servers (seagullception :yay:).
Bohemia Interactive
Arma 3 - Project Lead
Watch us, tweet us, poke us

Take On Helicopters - Project Lead
Take On Noisecontrollers!

rebelvg
rebelvg

    Sergeant

  • Members
  • 147 posts

  • Joined: 22-September 2012
  • LocationUkraine

Posted 12 March 2013 - 10:36 #17

delete

Edited by rebelvg, 12 March 2013 - 14:28.


cub1
cub1

    Lance Corporal

  • Members
  • 53 posts

  • Joined: 06-October 2004

Posted 12 March 2013 - 12:01 #18

for announces:

Type: Public Alpha
Branch: Development
Version: 0.5.102980

* merges from Arma 2: Operation Arrowhead beta / Take On Helicopters
* tons of crashfixes
* some fixes

remember it might be more buggy / less stable for some ..


Steam hasn't updated to this build even though I have chosen development build in the beta options. Also my rpt file shows Alpha 0.5.102571 STABLE branch at 12.01pm on 12/03/2013. Any thoughts ?

Thr0tt
Thr0tt

    Master Sergeant

  • Members
  • 800 posts

  • Joined: 26-February 2007

Posted 12 March 2013 - 12:32 #19

Looks like it got updated yesterday and just now it reverted due to some reason possibly the seagul bug.
Specs: Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P | AMD Phenom II x4 965 BE 3.4GHz | Sapphire RADEON HD 7850 (Latest Cats) CCC |8GB DDR3 1333MHz Dual Channel |Samsung 2232BW 22" LCD & Hanns-G HH281 28" LCD | X-Fi Ultimate Gamer (5.1) | LiteOn DH20A4P DVD-RW | Saitek Cyborg Evo Joystick | Win7 Ultimate

Nouty
Nouty

    Sergeant

  • Members
  • 192 posts

  • Joined: 07-August 2009

Posted 12 March 2013 - 15:43 #20

Thanks for the answers Sniperwolf and DnA. Just didn't want to miss the chance to try out the new fixes and/or features while not updating to every new dev build. Sounds like a good plan. :)