Sign in to follow this  
Surael

[Blue Screen] 55+ hours in, Arma II: OA starts causing crashes, no clear reason.

I've searched this forum for even vaguely related issues, but I've only found two threads regarding BSODs and Arma II: OA, one of which was locked and directed to the other, and the other was not a similar issue. I have also checked "if already posted," but do not expect my naming scheme to be common.

About a week ago, I started playing Arma II: OA. Getting hooked on Day Z, I spent the next several days accumulating 50+ hours of playtime, without a single issue. Being that most, if not all, of my time had (up to this point) been wholly consumed by playing, no software or hardware changes were made to my machine. Around the 52-55 hour total playtime mark, I'm beginning my play session for the day and within 5 minutes, receive a blue screen. Not to be deterred, I ignored it and carried on. Stuff happens, right?

Everything goes well until the next day, where I receive another the first time I start playing (again after a short time of playing perfectly). Now mildly concerned, but still undeterred, I continue playing until the next day, where the blue screens are continuous. One happens as normal, then every time I play for more than 3-5 minutes, crash. This includes playing the Single Player campaign, Multiplayer via Day Z (on multiple servers), and in various Boot Camp scenarios.

I update my video drivers. Problem continues. I verify the OA integrity through Steam. One file (1.4kb) is downloaded each verification, so I figure it's nothing important. Problem continues. I reinstall Arma II. Problem...ceases. Until today.

This is a .rar of all available related minidumps.

tl;dr

Arma II: OA blue screens consistently after 55 hours of problem-free play with no system changes occurring. Reinstalling Arma II fixes/reduces frequency for a few days (~10 hours playtime).

Notes:

1. Some minidumps available here.