Jump to content

Photo
- - - - -

co30 Domination! TOH


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic
Thread Starter
Xeno
Xeno

    ACE Team Leader

  • Members
  • 1814 posts

  • Joined: 20-April 2007

Posted 11 April 2012 - 21:04 #1

co30 Domination! TOH WIP1 Test Version

Please note that you need Take On Helicopters: Rearmed and thus also the latest beta patch (server and client).

What's different to the normal OA version:
  • TOH choppers at base instead of the normal OA choppers (you still win OA combat choppers)
  • Video wall at base showing other players (might not work :))
  • PiP screen helper when you try to lift a vehicle
  • and some other changes

Code for lifting vehicles with ropes is in but deactivated (the rope simulation is still not MP compatible afaik and I don't want to add a scripted one which introduces other problems).
There are most likely other problems but so far it did look good.

Please report bugs and issues at the Domination tracker:
https://dev-heaven.n...mination/issues


Download


Enjoy and

have fun!



Xeno
[SIZE=1][/SIZE]

Jedra
Jedra

    Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 2048 posts

  • Joined: 07-March 2011

Posted 11 April 2012 - 21:13 #2

Xeno - you are a genius - let the fun begin!
Jedra's Addons
Arma 2 : Enhanced Skills Slider
Take On Helicopters : Take On Taxi | Jedra's Time Trials | Weapon Indicators | No Radar

[EVO] Dan
[EVO] Dan

    Master Gunnery Sergeant

  • Members
  • 1270 posts

  • Joined: 04-January 2011

Posted 11 April 2012 - 21:16 #3

Indeed let the fun begin. Awesome work, but I see ONE HUGE FLAW:

nobody is going to want to go on the ground with the awesome new flight model ;)
My custom missions:
TOH - COOP5 Operation Pegasus http://forums.bistud...eration-Pegasus
TOH - COOP Convoy attack (both Hinds and stock versions) http://forums.bistud...O-Convoy-Attack
A2CO Multi-mission Template http://forums.bistud...048#post2182048
Basic Vehicle respawn script (A3 Alpha) http://forums.bistud...272#post2389272

[EVO] Multigaming Clan is recuiting at ts3.evoclan.net

Scorlhov
Scorlhov

    Corporal

  • Members
  • 83 posts

  • Joined: 16-February 2012

Posted 12 April 2012 - 09:09 #4

Wow, awesome, thx Xeno

Jedra
Jedra

    Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 2048 posts

  • Joined: 07-March 2011

Posted 12 April 2012 - 10:40 #5

It's running well so far. Unfortunately I haven't got another copy of ToH so I can't test if that big screen is working or not - excellent idea though!

It is actually quite strange as I kept trying to fly the helicopters like I would fly them in Arma! It takes a little mental adjustment to get used to the Take on Domi style!

Do you think there would be a 'Hinds' version?
Jedra's Addons
Arma 2 : Enhanced Skills Slider
Take On Helicopters : Take On Taxi | Jedra's Time Trials | Weapon Indicators | No Radar

Thread Starter
Xeno
Xeno

    ACE Team Leader

  • Members
  • 1814 posts

  • Joined: 20-April 2007

Posted 12 April 2012 - 11:38 #6

It is actually quite strange as I kept trying to fly the helicopters like I would fly them in Arma! It takes a little mental adjustment to get used to the Take on Domi style!

lol, yeah, it took me also quite some time to not use the ArmA flying style.
It's sad that the rope simulation still doesn't work in MP as this would also change transporting vehicles with the lift choppers.

Do you think there would be a 'Hinds' version?

Maybe.

Xeno
[SIZE=1][/SIZE]

themaster303
themaster303

    Gunnery Sergeant

  • Members
  • 540 posts

  • Joined: 05-December 2005

Posted 12 April 2012 - 12:51 #7

It's sad that the rope simulation still doesn't work in MP as this would also change transporting vehicles with the lift choppers.
Xeno


maybe this can help about ropes in mp. not tested, but saw this in editing forum:

http://forums.bistud...layer-Slingload

greetz
masty

Thread Starter
Xeno
Xeno

    ACE Team Leader

  • Members
  • 1814 posts

  • Joined: 20-April 2007

Posted 12 April 2012 - 13:00 #8

maybe this can help about ropes in mp. not tested, but saw this in editing forum:

Nope, like I wrote already, no scripted solution. I've fiddeled around enough with scripted ropes in ACE :P
I guess that the ropes in VBS2 do work in MP too so it's BIS turn :)

Xeno
[SIZE=1][/SIZE]

Jedra
Jedra

    Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 2048 posts

  • Joined: 07-March 2011

Posted 12 April 2012 - 20:21 #9

I don't know if anyone else has noticed, and I doubt it's a Domination issue, but when you recruit a number of AI, one of the voices is female (I was recruiting 8 at a time). None of them look like girls (I checked!), but one of them definitely sounds like a girl. It started to remind me of a certain Monty Python sketch in the Life Of Brian. "Are there any women here?".....
Jedra's Addons
Arma 2 : Enhanced Skills Slider
Take On Helicopters : Take On Taxi | Jedra's Time Trials | Weapon Indicators | No Radar

mjr.hassle
mjr.hassle

    Sergeant

  • Members
  • 117 posts

  • Joined: 20-July 2009

Posted 12 April 2012 - 21:04 #10

Thanks Xeno! This is fantastic news indeed. :)

@jedra: I was messing around editing my own mission earlier and my male character also sounded very lady like. Think it was pilot(scarf) class. So your not alone. :)

Thread Starter
Xeno
Xeno

    ACE Team Leader

  • Members
  • 1814 posts

  • Joined: 20-April 2007

Posted 13 April 2012 - 08:19 #11

I don't know if anyone else has noticed, and I doubt it's a Domination issue, but when you recruit a number of AI, one of the voices is female (I was recruiting 8 at a time).

Might be a good idea to make a simple repro mission and create a ticket at the TOH CIT. I guess a simple createUnit x times and join the units to the player group should be enough.

Xeno
[SIZE=1][/SIZE]

Scorlhov
Scorlhov

    Corporal

  • Members
  • 83 posts

  • Joined: 16-February 2012

Posted 13 April 2012 - 08:35 #12

HI Xeno,
I am new to TOH/Arma, and i would like to know, if it's possible to play domination as single player
Thx

Jedra
Jedra

    Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 2048 posts

  • Joined: 07-March 2011

Posted 13 April 2012 - 09:05 #13

HI Xeno,
I am new to TOH/Arma, and i would like to know, if it's possible to play domination as single player
Thx


Yes, it is - sort of!

If you run it as a multiplayer hosted game or as a local dedicated host, but make sure that in the Parameters you set 'AI Recruitment' on, you will then be able to recruit AI when you play and effectively play on your own if you wish.

To be honest, it's not that much fun on your own - some of the objectives really need other humans involved however it's good to play just for practice.
Jedra's Addons
Arma 2 : Enhanced Skills Slider
Take On Helicopters : Take On Taxi | Jedra's Time Trials | Weapon Indicators | No Radar

Scorlhov
Scorlhov

    Corporal

  • Members
  • 83 posts

  • Joined: 16-February 2012

Posted 13 April 2012 - 09:11 #14

Thx Jedra,
Will try.
Many things to learn in Arma :)

Jedra
Jedra

    Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 2048 posts

  • Joined: 07-March 2011

Posted 13 April 2012 - 09:45 #15

Thx Jedra,
Will try.
Many things to learn in Arma :)


If you have installed Take On Helicopters : ReArmed then I am running this mission at the moment on my server (with AI enabled). Just do a search for my server "Jedra - ToH Server" and you should be able to join. As all my mates have now left the Armaverse it's never very full (i.e it's usually empty if I am not on it)!
Jedra's Addons
Arma 2 : Enhanced Skills Slider
Take On Helicopters : Take On Taxi | Jedra's Time Trials | Weapon Indicators | No Radar

J-Guid
J-Guid

    Banned

  • 669 posts

  • Joined: 20-April 2011

Posted 19 April 2012 - 10:08 #16

Who can ask a stable servers with mixed A2+TOH when Domi or other missions runing?

Jedra
Jedra

    Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 2048 posts

  • Joined: 07-March 2011

Posted 23 April 2012 - 07:21 #17

Thanks for fixing the repair/rearm/refuel bug - I'll look at the latest WIP release today.
Jedra's Addons
Arma 2 : Enhanced Skills Slider
Take On Helicopters : Take On Taxi | Jedra's Time Trials | Weapon Indicators | No Radar

Jedra
Jedra

    Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 2048 posts

  • Joined: 07-March 2011

Posted 23 April 2012 - 17:23 #18

I'll do some more testing later, but I think the repair is still not working. I think the problem is that the shutdown takes so long that the damage is done AFTER the repair portion of the script has finished. I think that you are going to have to perform a proper shutdown when someone lands on the pad, and then wait for it to complete before running the maintenance script.

It does work OK when the AI are flying - but the AI cheat in ToH when it comes to shutdown and takeoff!!

I'll update the ticket I created later when I have confirmed it's definitely not working. This is just a 'heads up'!
Jedra's Addons
Arma 2 : Enhanced Skills Slider
Take On Helicopters : Take On Taxi | Jedra's Time Trials | Weapon Indicators | No Radar

Jedra
Jedra

    Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 2048 posts

  • Joined: 07-March 2011

Posted 24 April 2012 - 16:38 #19

Me again ;-)

I have updated the ticket https://dev-heaven.net/issues/30446 with a fix for this. I can't re-open the ticket so it remains closed.

x_reload2.sqf now performs a proper shutdown of ToH helicopters before performing maintenance - it also sets off the startup sequence again once maintenance is complete. This now prevents the helicopters from breaking during maintenance.

I have tested with the light, medium and heavy helicopters. I haven't tested a Hind yet, but its startup/shutdown procedures are done in the same way so it shoudl work.
Jedra's Addons
Arma 2 : Enhanced Skills Slider
Take On Helicopters : Take On Taxi | Jedra's Time Trials | Weapon Indicators | No Radar

ColinM9991
ColinM9991

    Staff Sergeant

  • Members
  • 237 posts

  • Joined: 09-March 2012

Posted 08 June 2012 - 22:05 #20

Sorry for the bump.

Anybody have a mirror of this?