Jump to content

Photo
- - - - -

Help fordedicated server files. Appeal to BIS! help the community.


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic
Thread Starter
WoODoO
WoODoO

    Corporal

  • Members
  • 61 posts

  • Joined: 07-July 2009

Posted 14 March 2012 - 20:36 #1

Hello!

Why community ArmA2 linux server administrators do not have available a mirror with the files for installation on your servers?

Is very stressful to be sending 16GB of files to the FTP.
It might be easier for us, have a mirror with the files full and updated.
Shows gratitude that BIS with the players and ArmA2 server administrators.

This service should be offered to administrators ArmA2 Linux servers.
After the community is extensive, players buy and spend money, media fifty box to buy the game.

myself paid more than one hundred box.

Should have support for devs for this.

Devs, could have facility to download these files?
players have more expansion in the future.

Sorry for my english... :(
...is not my first language.

I appreciate your attention.
Core i7 3770K@Stok | AsRock Z77 Extreme 6 | 16Gb DDR3 Corsair Veagence 1600Mhz | Sandisk Extreme SSD 128GB + Seagate Barracuda 1TB| Gigabyte Geforce GTX660Ti 2GB | XFX Pro 750W

tankbuster
tankbuster

    First Lieutenant

  • Members
  • 5340 posts

  • Joined: 14-June 2005

Posted 14 March 2012 - 20:41 #2

This thread again! Come on BI, sort this out.
Documentation is not a dirty word.
: TeamSPAFF : PRACS : RKSL : Stella Artois : Creme Eggs : Elite Warriors :

Making working streetside IEDs since 2011.

Thread Starter
WoODoO
WoODoO

    Corporal

  • Members
  • 61 posts

  • Joined: 07-July 2009

Posted 14 March 2012 - 22:06 #3

It would be so easy to solve this.

All server administrators to have a hard difficulty.
Okay, not all but many have problems with large uploads
Core i7 3770K@Stok | AsRock Z77 Extreme 6 | 16Gb DDR3 Corsair Veagence 1600Mhz | Sandisk Extreme SSD 128GB + Seagate Barracuda 1TB| Gigabyte Geforce GTX660Ti 2GB | XFX Pro 750W

Dwarden
Dwarden

    BI Developer

  • 9654 posts

  • Joined: 05-March 2002
  • LocationBrno, Czech Republic

Posted 14 March 2012 - 23:33 #4

it's on TODO, you need to wait ...

RealTimeChat ~ARMA2 in Your browser (w/o Java), RealTimeChat ~ARMA3 in Your browser (w/o Java),
irc.GameSurge.net/ARMA2 (external IRC clients) irc.GameSurge.net/ARMA3 (external IRC clients)
ARMA 3 Feedback Tracker: http://feedback.arma...y_view_page.php
~100k fans @STEAM ARMA 2 + ARMA 2: OA + ARMA 3: + ~2k @XFIRE A2:OA
Follow my Twitter: http://twitter.com/FoltynD or my Facebook http://facebook.com/FoltynD


tankbuster
tankbuster

    First Lieutenant

  • Members
  • 5340 posts

  • Joined: 14-June 2005

Posted 14 March 2012 - 23:41 #5

Excellent news.

Now hurry up. :)
Documentation is not a dirty word.
: TeamSPAFF : PRACS : RKSL : Stella Artois : Creme Eggs : Elite Warriors :

Making working streetside IEDs since 2011.

Thread Starter
WoODoO
WoODoO

    Corporal

  • Members
  • 61 posts

  • Joined: 07-July 2009

Posted 14 March 2012 - 23:51 #6

Excellent news.

:)


x2 five caracters
Core i7 3770K@Stok | AsRock Z77 Extreme 6 | 16Gb DDR3 Corsair Veagence 1600Mhz | Sandisk Extreme SSD 128GB + Seagate Barracuda 1TB| Gigabyte Geforce GTX660Ti 2GB | XFX Pro 750W

eddieck
eddieck

    Staff Sergeant

  • Members
  • 373 posts

  • Joined: 11-October 2010

Posted 15 March 2012 - 12:13 #7

Use Amazon EC2 (or Rackspace Cloud, or another similar service offering Windows VMs by the hour) to install OA, and then SFTP the files to your server.

Thread Starter
WoODoO
WoODoO

    Corporal

  • Members
  • 61 posts

  • Joined: 07-July 2009

Posted 15 March 2012 - 20:09 #8

Use Amazon EC2 (or Rackspace Cloud, or another similar service offering Windows VMs by the hour) to install OA, and then SFTP the files to your server.


I do this with steam, this is not the problem.

But a specific source file servers, you know... not install on my machine and after send by FTP.

:) I'm happy, seeing that BIS is concerned with these details.

Hopefully it will be for the shortest possible.

it's on TODO, you need to wait ...


Qwarden, would have more details?

Edited by WoODoO, 15 March 2012 - 20:26.

Core i7 3770K@Stok | AsRock Z77 Extreme 6 | 16Gb DDR3 Corsair Veagence 1600Mhz | Sandisk Extreme SSD 128GB + Seagate Barracuda 1TB| Gigabyte Geforce GTX660Ti 2GB | XFX Pro 750W

nomad_man
nomad_man

    Corporal

  • Members
  • 93 posts

  • Joined: 08-March 2011

Posted 16 March 2012 - 00:54 #9

it's on todo, you need to wait ...


awesome

sancron
sancron

    Corporal

  • Members
  • 91 posts

  • Joined: 23-August 2011
  • LocationGermany

Posted 16 April 2012 - 05:33 #10

Are they some new informations or news about this topic? I want to setup a ArmA2CO Server on my Root and get scared to upload over 16GB on data over a DSL 3k connection with 36 kb/s upload speed. I don't find a other way to get the files rapid on my Linux-Server.
MSI Z97 Gaming 3 | Intel Xeon E3-v1231v3 @ 3.8GHz | Gigabyte AMD Radeon R9 270X Windforce x3 OC
16GB Corsair XMS3 1333Mhz RAM | 750GB WD Black Cavier | Thermaltake Berlin 530W | Windows 8.1 Pro x64

MilSim Unit: virtuelle Panzerbrigade 21 / Customer Support: United Gameserver GmbH / Livestream: hitbox.tv/sancron

Posted Image

Thread Starter
WoODoO
WoODoO

    Corporal

  • Members
  • 61 posts

  • Joined: 07-July 2009

Posted 18 April 2012 - 15:13 #11

Already have something functional?
Or are we still waiting for the BIS?

I do not know but I think we have the right to have it for convenience.
After all, we are fill the pockets of the BIS.
They can help us, not as an obligation but out of consideration.
Core i7 3770K@Stok | AsRock Z77 Extreme 6 | 16Gb DDR3 Corsair Veagence 1600Mhz | Sandisk Extreme SSD 128GB + Seagate Barracuda 1TB| Gigabyte Geforce GTX660Ti 2GB | XFX Pro 750W

Overlord
Overlord

    Staff Sergeant

  • Members
  • 384 posts

  • Joined: 15-September 2006

Posted 18 April 2012 - 17:26 #12

Sadly enough Wo0Do0, it's BIS who keep all rights to ArmA files/ content ;)
But as they have stated several places regarding this issue, they are looking into it.

I have full respect for BIS and their work, and fully understand their need (and right) to keep their work "off-hands" for certain communities.
While we wait, you could try out one of several solutions listed here, and in other threads, upload from work or find (get) a friend with better connection :)
I'm Norwegian, what's your excuse?
Posted Image

Thread Starter
WoODoO
WoODoO

    Corporal

  • Members
  • 61 posts

  • Joined: 07-July 2009

Posted 26 April 2012 - 19:36 #13

Hi Overlord!

Do I already did the upload and very fast. I think not only had to do it. we can not look only at our nose. The thought has to be global.

I do not understand is that a corporation can leave alone
who puts their money in their pocket.

It is we who do it by buying the software from this company.
Please do not ask how, ask a solution for this.
As consumers we have this right and the company has to show some gratitude.
That's not to say that it is an obligation of the company.

I hope that BIS can see that. I will not be hard.
only want to have some kind of conscience on their part.
To not make mistakes and give back to consumers.

A simple solution put the files into a server so it can be installed.

And compacted with a password that only those who bought the games can unpack. Simple and functional.
Core i7 3770K@Stok | AsRock Z77 Extreme 6 | 16Gb DDR3 Corsair Veagence 1600Mhz | Sandisk Extreme SSD 128GB + Seagate Barracuda 1TB| Gigabyte Geforce GTX660Ti 2GB | XFX Pro 750W

Overlord
Overlord

    Staff Sergeant

  • Members
  • 384 posts

  • Joined: 15-September 2006

Posted 26 April 2012 - 21:27 #14

A simple solution put the files into a server so it can be installed.

And compacted with a password that only those who bought the games can unpack. Simple and functional.

My knowledge to Internet users tells me that password would soon be all over the net. But then again, I think a licence system for users with a valid game must be in place before BIS can set up a solution for files in question.
I'm Norwegian, what's your excuse?
Posted Image

tankbuster
tankbuster

    First Lieutenant

  • Members
  • 5340 posts

  • Joined: 14-June 2005

Posted 27 April 2012 - 06:43 #15

I've suggested that in the past. Users should log in with their UID.
Documentation is not a dirty word.
: TeamSPAFF : PRACS : RKSL : Stella Artois : Creme Eggs : Elite Warriors :

Making working streetside IEDs since 2011.