Jump to content

Photo
- - - - -

Take On Helicopters Beta Patch 89942

beta patch tkoh

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic
Thread Starter
dna
dna

    BI Developer

  • 1705 posts

  • Joined: 08-January 2002

Posted 28 February 2012 - 14:53 #1

Beta patch rev. 89942 released

Changelog:
Spoiler


We would have your feedback on whether this version fixes the loss of collective controls introduced in the previous version (CIT issue). We were unable to reproduce it on any of our PCs, so this is a blind fix. Thanks!
Bohemia Interactive
Arma 3 - Project Lead
Watch us, tweet us, poke us

Take On Helicopters - Project Lead
Take On Noisecontrollers!

Jedra
Jedra

    Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 2048 posts

  • Joined: 07-March 2011

Posted 28 February 2012 - 18:26 #2

I have tried to replicate the 'collective bug' in this and the last beta, and so far, I have also failed to 'lose' the collective control.

One thing I have noticed is that while flying in cockpit view, the cockpit disappears for a second (actually less than that). It's not the whole screen, just the cockpit. When it disappears, you can see the scenery almost as if it is a 'no cockpit' view. There's no partcular mission it does it in, it can be an editor session, a scenario, time trial etc. It does do it consistantly though. I'll try and you-tube it later when the kids are in bed.
Jedra's Addons
Arma 2 : Enhanced Skills Slider
Take On Helicopters : Take On Taxi | Jedra's Time Trials | Weapon Indicators | No Radar

sbsmac
sbsmac

    Master Gunnery Sergeant

  • Members
  • 1297 posts

  • Joined: 24-August 2003

Posted 28 February 2012 - 19:04 #3

I have the same problem with the disappearing cockpit. It was present in the previous beta as well. You may also notice the scenery disappear from time to time.
Author of PVPmissionWizard ArmA2FPSAnalyser AddonChecker and ... squint

Tools homepage

Crosseyed and Painless - a blog about my ArmA2 developments



Baraka
Baraka

    Staff Sergeant

  • Members
  • 248 posts

  • Joined: 03-January 2010

Posted 28 February 2012 - 19:39 #4

Did you fly on an A2 or an A2 Addon map? I had the cockpit-disappear-issue with those maps since the game is released.

Jedra
Jedra

    Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 2048 posts

  • Joined: 07-March 2011

Posted 28 February 2012 - 19:57 #5

Not for me. Vanilla ToH with latest patch and latest beta.
Jedra's Addons
Arma 2 : Enhanced Skills Slider
Take On Helicopters : Take On Taxi | Jedra's Time Trials | Weapon Indicators | No Radar

sbsmac
sbsmac

    Master Gunnery Sergeant

  • Members
  • 1297 posts

  • Joined: 24-August 2003

Posted 28 February 2012 - 20:01 #6

Not for me. Vanilla ToH with latest patch and latest beta.


Likewise. Seems to happen all over Seattle - particularly in the downtown area.
Author of PVPmissionWizard ArmA2FPSAnalyser AddonChecker and ... squint

Tools homepage

Crosseyed and Painless - a blog about my ArmA2 developments



Jedra
Jedra

    Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 2048 posts

  • Joined: 07-March 2011

Posted 28 February 2012 - 21:41 #7

Created a CIT for the cockpit flickering #29012

See the effect in the following video at 45 seconds and again at 1 minute

O9JrJSoTl80
Jedra's Addons
Arma 2 : Enhanced Skills Slider
Take On Helicopters : Take On Taxi | Jedra's Time Trials | Weapon Indicators | No Radar

rok
rok

    Staff Sergeant

  • Members
  • 208 posts

  • Joined: 07-May 2007

Posted 28 February 2012 - 22:50 #8

I've had cockpit disappear for second or less in vanilla TKOH and vanilla A2:OA for year(s). Luckily it doesn't happen too frequently.

Thread Starter
dna
dna

    BI Developer

  • 1705 posts

  • Joined: 08-January 2002

Posted 29 February 2012 - 08:22 #9

Since the cockpit flickering is again one of those issues we don't see happen a lot in-house, let's try to find a pattern in hardware and software. Please can those who see this happen post information about HW, SW and settings in TKOH (in the CIT ticket or here)? If we can link it to a specific settings (e.g. PiP), it will be more feasible to track down.
Bohemia Interactive
Arma 3 - Project Lead
Watch us, tweet us, poke us

Take On Helicopters - Project Lead
Take On Noisecontrollers!

.kju -PvPscene-
.kju -PvPscene-

    Brigadier General

  • Members
  • 12275 posts

  • Joined: 20-October 2001

Posted 29 February 2012 - 08:30 #10

Just to make sure its not missing: Its said to happen also in OA.



Current active projects: None :(

Maintained/assisted projects: IFA3, Blitzkrieg


Help: Got a crash? Report it! What is the RPT log file?


OMAC
OMAC

    CWR² Mission Developer

  • Members
  • 2109 posts

  • Joined: 30-December 2010
  • LocationFirebase Zulu

Posted 29 February 2012 - 15:09 #11

Since the cockpit flickering is again one of those issues we don't see happen a lot in-house, let's try to find a pattern in hardware and software. Please can those who see this happen post information about HW, SW and settings in TKOH (in the CIT ticket or here)? If we can link it to a specific settings (e.g. PiP), it will be more feasible to track down.


I see the occasional cockpit flickering. See signature for settings.

BoboCZ
BoboCZ

    Staff Sergeant

  • Members
  • 291 posts

  • Joined: 10-April 2009

Posted 29 February 2012 - 17:16 #12

I'm not sure if 'collective bug' is related to my 'spinning bug', but my problem is still there. I can easily reproduced it in every betapatch since then.
I would not call it collective bug, because everything is very sensitive, collective is still working, but helicopter is spinning (same behaver like already fixed 88779 bug ), what help is turn off motor, even when I fly, then helicopter stop spinning and I can land with autorotation (usually it ends with crash :P). It seems that flight model goes crazy. I even reinstall game, no change :(.
My Computer:
MSI Z68A-GD65 G3 | i5 2500K @4.5GHz | NVidia MSI N560GTX-TI TWIN FROZR II
16GB Kingston HyperX Genesis Grey 1600Mhz | SSD 128GB Crucial M4 | Enermax PRO82+ 525W | Windows 7 x64 | Logitech WingMa​n Extreme 3D Pro

Take On Helicopters - video options #.

sbsmac
sbsmac

    Master Gunnery Sergeant

  • Members
  • 1297 posts

  • Joined: 24-August 2003

Posted 29 February 2012 - 18:18 #13

WRT cockpit flickering, see spoiler for profile, cfg and system settings...
Once thing worth pointing out - I don't emember any flickering from patch 1.03 (or if it was there it was rare enough that I didn't notice it) so this appears to be an effect that was made worse during the beta tweaking. Tweaking with the graphics settings doesn't seem to do much to affect it either.


Spoiler

Edited by sbsmac, 29 February 2012 - 18:23.

Author of PVPmissionWizard ArmA2FPSAnalyser AddonChecker and ... squint

Tools homepage

Crosseyed and Painless - a blog about my ArmA2 developments



OMAC
OMAC

    CWR² Mission Developer

  • Members
  • 2109 posts

  • Joined: 30-December 2010
  • LocationFirebase Zulu

Posted 01 March 2012 - 02:30 #14

I'm not sure if 'collective bug' is related to my 'spinning bug', but my problem is still there. I can easily reproduced it in every betapatch since then.
I would not call it collective bug, because everything is very sensitive, collective is still working, but helicopter is spinning (same behaver like already fixed 88779 bug ), what help is turn off motor, even when I fly, then helicopter stop spinning and I can land with autorotation (usually it ends with crash :P). It seems that flight model goes crazy. I even reinstall game, no change :(.


I have reported the spinning problem several times, and it still exists in this beta. It is rather rare, but I think it occurs when slowing down to land and the analog collective controls are used to reduce collective to 0 temporarily to lose altitude. If that control is held too long, the heli (medium only) goes into hard right spin which can sometimes be stopped by autohover or by holding down left pedal. The heli is completely unflyable when the spin happens, and you will either crash or spin in place forever at ~1 rev/sec. This never happened before 1.04 betas, and is obviously related to the 1.04 RTD FM for medium heli. I have vids of it, but haven't uploaded them.

Is this spin a bug or a feature? Seems like a problem to me. Does the spin result from the heli becoming damaged in some way?

Edited by OMAC, 01 March 2012 - 04:56.


Jedra
Jedra

    Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 2048 posts

  • Joined: 07-March 2011

Posted 01 March 2012 - 09:56 #15

I can re-create the spinning bug every time:

1. In the editor, place a medium civil helo anywhere and set it to flying.
2. Raise the collective slowly to full to gain some height.
3. Lower the collective all the way down - slowly, maintaining control with pedal.
4. Bring the collective all the way up again - the helo will start to sping wildly and no amount of pedal can counter it. There seems to be a 'trigger point' during the collective raising manouver that sets it off - for me this is just before 100% collective up.

EDIT--> Tested with a Logitech G940 Joystick/Throttle/Pedal system.

Did someone raise a ticket for this? I can't see anything related at dev heaven.

Not sure how often this would manifest in real situations - it seems that normal approach and landing are OK

Edited by Jedra, 01 March 2012 - 14:45.

Jedra's Addons
Arma 2 : Enhanced Skills Slider
Take On Helicopters : Take On Taxi | Jedra's Time Trials | Weapon Indicators | No Radar

OMAC
OMAC

    CWR² Mission Developer

  • Members
  • 2109 posts

  • Joined: 30-December 2010
  • LocationFirebase Zulu

Posted 01 March 2012 - 14:37 #16

The use of analog collective controls can apparently cause the spinning more readily, as it instantly sets collective to max or min temporarily, as long as the keys are held, which may jar the system in some way, causing damage or a bug. Such keys have been vital for me to speed or slow descent on landings w/o autohover. I've never seen a ticket for this issue either, but it has been present since the first 1.04 beta, yet in varying degrees of severity.

Edited by OMAC, 02 March 2012 - 01:41.


daikan
daikan

    Staff Sergeant

  • Members
  • 285 posts

  • Joined: 14-December 2006

Posted 04 March 2012 - 20:53 #17

Unfortunately this version breaks compatibility with the latest Linux DS (the beta is now marked as 1.04 whereas the Linux DS is still 1.03). Any chance we might see an updated Linux DS beta soon™?


"Nothing is so firmly believed as what is least known." - Michel de Montaigne


Thread Starter
dna
dna

    BI Developer

  • 1705 posts

  • Joined: 08-January 2002

Posted 05 March 2012 - 09:35 #18

Yes, Linux server to be distributed once the final patch is released :)
Bohemia Interactive
Arma 3 - Project Lead
Watch us, tweet us, poke us

Take On Helicopters - Project Lead
Take On Noisecontrollers!



Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: beta patch, tkoh