Jump to content

Photo
- - - - -

"Fire At Will" - Functional AI artillery without any knowledge about scripts etc.


  • Please log in to reply
67 replies to this topic
Thread Starter
Rydygier
Rydygier

    Chief Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 3236 posts

  • Joined: 22-August 2011

Posted 24 November 2011 - 13:29 #1

FAW 1.31 Released

(Requires A2 CO 1.62 or above)


FAW 1.31 (Armaholic)

FAW 1.31 (Dropbox)
FAW 1.31 (ZippyShare)

For A2 only users:

FAW 1.2 hotfix (Armaholic)
FAW 1.2 hotfix (Armed Assault Info)

CHANGELOG



- minor code fixes.


PREVIOUS VERSIONS HISTORY



Spoiler

-----


INTRODUCTION


Purpose of „Fire At Will” addon is to give in simplest way possible fully functional AI artillery to battlefield for those, who can't or simply refuse to learn script language but still want functional AI artillery in his Arma 2 missions. It was created because in my opinion it is illogical to force a player to learn script language and to study BIS_ARTY Module commands and variables even if he wants just to set up some AI artillery in his missions, while such knowledge is not required for any other types of AI combat units, which are fully functional without any scripting.
Addon supports all generic Arma 2 artillery units (howitzers: M119, D30; mortars: M252, 2B14; rocket systems: GRAD and MRLS) and its OA counterparts. Requires Arma 2 CO 1.62 or above.

Addon requires Community Base Addon.

-----



USAGE



To use the FAW primary, addon version in yours missions just set up some artillery batteries in editor and play with addon.
Technically you also probably can play this way any other mission, but it's not recommended due to unpredictable changes on the battlefield, that are likely to ruin mission designer’s concept.
To init FAW script version (in folder „Script Version”) place following eg in init field of any unit or activation field of trigger or in init.sqf etc.: nul = [ ] execVM „PrepArt.sqf”;
Important notes:
1. group of artillery must consist of the same kind of artillery units.
2. bombardment trajectory is calculated from position of leader such artillery group, so do not place leader far from rest of group.

User can also call smoke or illumination fire missions directly via:

_CFF = [reference position, available artillery groups array, ammo type, amount, FO unit] call RYD_ArtyMission;



For example for smoke screen between _badguy and player:

_CFF = [position _badguy, [Battery1,Battery2], "SMOKE", 6, player] call RYD_ArtyMission;



_CFF is an array, that contains boolean flag indicating, if mission can be conducted, chosen battery (BIS_Arty module synchronized with chosen artillery group) and leader of this artillery group.

-----



HOW IT WORKS



Spoiler

-----



CONFIGURATION



Spoiler


-----


DEBUG MARKERS


Spoiler



-----



ARTILLERY WEAPON SPECIFICATIONS



Spoiler


-----


Addon was created "by player for players", source scripts you can freely modify, copy, "cannibalize", to use in your projects. It is released under APL-SA license. I'll be grateful for notification about each such usage.


I will be grateful for any bugtracking, testing, opinions and ideas.

Enjoy being under fire & have a nice boom.

Rydygier

Edited by Rydygier, 23 February 2014 - 11:26.
1.31


snoops_213
snoops_213

    Staff Sergeant

  • Members
  • 312 posts

  • Joined: 11-April 2005

Posted 24 November 2011 - 15:23 #2

Hi there great little addon! I have noticed in a couple of quick tests that the FO's seem to target all the batteries onto the same target. Any way of making it so different targets are assigned to different batteries? Will go back and play with some more and try out different rounds.

Thread Starter
Rydygier
Rydygier

    Chief Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 3236 posts

  • Joined: 22-August 2011

Posted 24 November 2011 - 15:29 #3

Yep, it's because every battery choose their targets indepedently. I will think about way to customize this behaviour.

Thanks.

foxhound
foxhound

    Retired Moderator

  • Members
  • 11379 posts

  • Joined: 06-June 2005

Posted 24 November 2011 - 16:37 #4

Thanks for informing us about the release :cool:


Release frontpaged on the Armaholic homepage.

Posted Image
"Fire At Will" - Functional AI artillery

Posted Image
Community base Addons


Visit Armaholic.com | Visit Carriercommandaholic.com
Posted Image
Public FTP available, just check the Armaholic.com FAQ.

HMM........wonder what it is huh?

kremator
kremator

    Major

  • Members
  • 7530 posts

  • Joined: 08-June 2007

Posted 24 November 2011 - 16:41 #5

What a great idea and implementation! Good work mate!

snoops_213
snoops_213

    Staff Sergeant

  • Members
  • 312 posts

  • Joined: 11-April 2005

Posted 24 November 2011 - 17:41 #6

This really is good fun to use,but a few of the fire missions are well off target, normally by a hundred or so meters but i've seen at least one over 1.2km off target :( Is that the AI taking moving targets into account? If so, any way so that a spotter round is fired first at moving targets and then the rest of the battery can adjust accordingly? I am using some mods but even with them all disabled i still get the same problem. Haven't tried it yet but is it possible to make it so that other artillery piece that are spotted become the highest value target? All we'd need after that is a script to make mortars pack up and move and tow-able arty pieces!
Thanks again for such a fun simple to use addon.

Thread Starter
Rydygier
Rydygier

    Chief Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 3236 posts

  • Joined: 22-August 2011

Posted 24 November 2011 - 18:31 #7

at least one over 1.2km off target :( Is that the AI taking moving targets into account?


Technically absolutely biggest possible (but extremely improbable) distance between target and impact (with default addon variables, for GRAD rocket artillery, moving vector for target at speed 29 km/h + maximal drift + maximal possible dispersion (battery leader nearly dead and just complete ignorant, gun nearly destroyed, stormy weather and maximum distance (10 km))) may reach... 483 m (vector) + 2774 m (! dispersion) + 1194 m (salvo drift) = about 4 km. Hmm. I am able to imagine that half-dead, totally incompetent idiot commanding battery will send a salvo so far from the target, it is certainly in the next version will limit possible spread a bit:). Have you used markers? If so, whether it was the distance between the target and explosions, or between the target and the black dot? What was the distance of the shot, what type of artillery, the weather, what skills and health of the commander?

If so, any way so that a spotter round is fired first at moving targets and then the rest of the battery can adjust accordingly?


It's probably possible, but can be quite complex. Currently aiming adjustment takes into account in such a way that re-firing the same target by the battery will be charged reduced by half drift. I'll think about it, but here I promise nothing.

Haven't tried it yet but is it possible to make it so that other artillery piece that are spotted become the highest value target?


Yes, I suppose. I wanted to do this and do not know why I did not... It's good idea, so... in the next version, I think. Still highest value does not guarantee becoming a target, only probability of that will grow up... Thanks for your testing!

Edited by Rydygier, 24 November 2011 - 18:46.


oldbear
oldbear

    Sergeant Major

  • Members
  • 1827 posts

  • Joined: 03-November 2006

Posted 24 November 2011 - 19:18 #8

New on front page at Armed Assault.info

Link to mirror :

Fire At Will : http://www.armedassa...=addons&id=1851

Edited by Old Bear, 26 November 2011 - 21:09.

Posted Image

Demakre
Demakre

    Rookie

  • Members
  • 6 posts

  • Joined: 14-November 2010

Posted 25 November 2011 - 18:54 #9

Hi @Rydygier thank you for this addon, its really awesome. Hovewer I have one problem with it, when I am trying to shoot my artylery, there is a message saying "cannot execute, ajust coordinates". Could you tell my....what does it mean and what Am I doing wrong? I dont understand.

Thread Starter
Rydygier
Rydygier

    Chief Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 3236 posts

  • Joined: 22-August 2011

Posted 25 November 2011 - 19:46 #10

This message isn't from my script. I guess, it's from Artillery Module. It seems that one of batteries trying to shoot at target that is too distant or too close. This is unexpected because script does not allow to chose batteries such targets. Unless that using my addon simultaneously you try manually direct artillery in some way? It all should work automatically... Hard to tell, need more info. It happens all the time, or only sometimes? You play Arma 2 or for example OA? Addon was tested only on Arma 2 1.10 and I heard, that artillery works a little differently in OA. Message appears for mortars, howitzers, rockets, or for all? What is at that time distance between battery and the target? What ammunition is used? You're using default settings or you changed it with "RydART_" variables? Whether, despite this message battery shooting at target? Do you maybe use any other addons or mods? Its your own mission , maked in editor, or maybe you trying to play with this addon mission previously prepared by someone else?

Edited by Rydygier, 25 November 2011 - 19:55.


Thread Starter
Rydygier
Rydygier

    Chief Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 3236 posts

  • Joined: 22-August 2011

Posted 25 November 2011 - 23:30 #11

In response to valuable snoops_213's comments prepared above a small update that contains implementations of his suggestions, and a handful of other ideas.

snoops_213
snoops_213

    Staff Sergeant

  • Members
  • 312 posts

  • Joined: 11-April 2005

Posted 26 November 2011 - 03:25 #12

Cool will test today/tonight and will report back. And as for your previous question, no i haven't been using markers for debugging but i will this time round to get a better idea of whats going on. Im running OA btw and no problems here.

@Demakre this addon is for the AI to use, players wanting to use arty pieces should disable this addon, there are other addon's out there that are aimed at players using arty pieces. The other option would be if there was a code to kill the script on certain pieces, but that seems like more work for Rydygier and unnecessary.

AndroidSpawn
AndroidSpawn

    Private First Class

  • Members
  • 20 posts

  • Joined: 05-October 2011

Posted 26 November 2011 - 05:01 #13

Nice addon/script! Thank you.
Ideas for missions with insurgent mortars started to pop up in my head when I found it on Armaholic.

I've tested it with ACE and west mortars if anyone is curios about ACE compability.

I found references to a folder that doesn't exist on the lines with execVM, a minor inconvenience if you are lazy like me.

And if I haven't learned this all wrong... You should add:

if(!isServer) exitWith {};
to the top of the sqf and:

if(true) exitWith {};
at the end to make it run only on the server for coop missions.

Thread Starter
Rydygier
Rydygier

    Chief Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 3236 posts

  • Joined: 22-August 2011

Posted 26 November 2011 - 08:36 #14

The other option would be if there was a code to kill the script on certain pieces, but that seems like more work for Rydygier and unnecessary.


This shouldn't be difficult, I will try to take this into account in the next version.

@AndroidSpawn

You're right about the folder. I'm talking about script version, and yet throw the code from addon version, with "\ RYD_FAW \" before the name of the script to execute (if you want to use these scripts must be "\ RYD_FAW \" removed in three places. Next thing to do in the next version.

And thanks for advice on coop compatibility.'ll try this. I just never dealt with MP, and the more with scripts for MP and I have no idea what is needed to script was adapted for use in MP. I have heard only that it should be signed, I had trouble with it now while working on a previous addon:

http://forums.bistud...3&postcount=138

Demakre
Demakre

    Rookie

  • Members
  • 6 posts

  • Joined: 14-November 2010

Posted 26 November 2011 - 17:37 #15

Pfff no idea, all what I do is create two pieces of artillery in editor (its my own mission), then attach them to my player as a spotter so the artillery seems to be part of my team. When I am playing I select both of them and in menu appears a command "Fire at position" so I select it while I`am placing the position of fire. Sometimes the artillery shoots sometimes it doesn´t and then appear the message which I told you before. I use CO with the last version. It appears for all kind of arty, for distances its the same; I use closer distance and longer it appears on both. If the message appears the arty don´t shoot. I have no idea whats going on, meaby Am I not using the addon properly? Could you make some video showing us, how to use the addon?? thank you very mutch RYdygier

Thread Starter
Rydygier
Rydygier

    Chief Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 3236 posts

  • Joined: 22-August 2011

Posted 26 November 2011 - 18:49 #16

@Demakre

Now the case is clear. Purpose of this addon is to make AI artillery fired on targets perceived by allied units without any intervention from player, except possibly of the personal searching for targets by simply observing the enemy positions, preferably with binoculars. Absolutely there is no need for the observer was in the same group as the battery, addon does not provide the manual issuing orders to battery. Battery will to shoot at automatically selected target itself.

---------- Post added at 07:34 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:11 PM ----------

To resolve any doubts... Here is my private training ground. Prepared everything needed:

Posted Image

---------- Post added at 07:49 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:34 PM ----------

I still wondering, how should I improve (make its results more realistic) way of calculating shells dispersion. Could use a little reliable information. Has anyone may link to sites where you can find this kind of specs? Something as tables containing parameter CEP for m252, M119, and the rest, or something like that? Looking blindly, using Google for a few hours, so far without any specific results. I will continue searching, but maybe someone has this kind of data at hand and save me trouble?

foxhound
foxhound

    Retired Moderator

  • Members
  • 11379 posts

  • Joined: 06-June 2005

Posted 26 November 2011 - 20:56 #17

Thanks for informing us about the update and sorry for the short delay but we had a little server issue to solve first :)


Updated release frontpaged on the Armaholic homepage.

Posted Image
"Fire At Will" - Functional AI artillery v1.1 beta

Posted Image
Community base Addons


Visit Armaholic.com | Visit Carriercommandaholic.com
Posted Image
Public FTP available, just check the Armaholic.com FAQ.

HMM........wonder what it is huh?

Demakre
Demakre

    Rookie

  • Members
  • 6 posts

  • Joined: 14-November 2010

Posted 26 November 2011 - 20:59 #18

@Rydygier Yeah.... all clear. Now I know where I´ve been making the mistake, thank you very much for the explain and obviously for this great addon.

oldbear
oldbear

    Sergeant Major

  • Members
  • 1827 posts

  • Joined: 03-November 2006

Posted 26 November 2011 - 21:10 #19

New on front page at Armed Assault.info

Link to updated mirror :

Fire At Will (v 1.1 beta) : http://www.armedassa...=addons&id=1851
Posted Image

maturin
maturin

    First Lieutenant

  • Members
  • 5727 posts

  • Joined: 28-June 2009

Posted 26 November 2011 - 21:18 #20

@Demakre

[/COLOR]I still wondering, how should I improve (make its results more realistic) way of calculating shells dispersion. Could use a little reliable information. Has anyone may link to sites where you can find this kind of specs? Something as tables containing parameter CEP for m252, M119, and the rest, or something like that? Looking blindly, using Google for a few hours, so far without any specific results. I will continue searching, but maybe someone has this kind of data at hand and save me trouble?


I think putting gameplay first would be a good idea here.

If the target is quite close or within sight of a group of mortars, the dispersion should be quite low, comparable to what the Artillery Computer achieves.

But in general, it would be cool if the the first salvos have wide dispersion, as they do now.

But the second salvo should be more accurate, if the enemy units are still being observed by friendly units.

And so on until the rounds strike home every time.

This way, a player being targeted by artillery will have to keep re-locating.
My Chernarussian Civil War SP missions:
Enfilade Ambush
Autumn Siege