Jump to content

Photo
- - - - -

MCC Sandbox - Mission making the easy way


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
664 replies to this topic
Thread Starter
spirit6
spirit6

    Gunnery Sergeant

  • Members
  • 551 posts

  • Joined: 05-June 2009

Posted 06 January 2011 - 20:22 #1

Mission Control Center Sandbox (MCC Sandbox).

So what is MCC Sandbox exactly?
MCC is a dynamic, real time, in-game mission-creation tool. It enables people to build missions on-the-fly whilst in game and change mission parameters to match the reactions of progress of the players.
MCC is capable of "saving" a mission and load it up on the server without using any FTP but by simple use of the clipboard. This means missions can be created out of the dedicated server and loaded up to play.
From inside the mission, you can open a mission making interface that allows you place units on the map, create waypoints and briefing markers, call in CAS missions or artillery, the possibilities are endless.
MCC is used to create both Coop and PVP missions. Its capable of using respawn on and off, including providing a spectator script.
When you first start MCC you will be presented with the player slot screen. From here you and your team mates can pick a faction and select a role within that faction.

MCC makes use of a mission maker. Only one person at a time is capable of creating a mission by login in to the mission making tool. That person is also capable of logging out again and giving somebody else a go on mission making.

MCC Sandbox is the main tool for creating mission in MARSOC community and i would like to thank all very much for taking the time over the last year to get this to where we are right now.

Did you guys make all of this yourself?
No, by all means we would be totaly grey an bold. We used, with permission, a lot of good content from the community. We also used a lot of work from ourself ofcourse. Initialy this project was started by me and slowly went into combined effort with Shay Gman. Shay Gman should get all the credits for his amazin work on the GUI and a lot of extra content on mcc. I want to thank him for giving me the honor to post this on our behalve.

Thanks:
1. Monsada, for his UPSMON script.
2. Mandoble, for his heliroute script.
3. Tuskan Raider, for his Arresting gear script.
4. Bon for his Advanced Artillery Request script.
5. DTM2801 for his Convoy Control Script.
6. TiGGA for his ILS Pro II.
7. iOnOs for his RTE.
8. Sickboy, Vking without them there was no MCC.
9. The F2 Framework
10. BIS
11. An endless list of people we forgot

How do i get started?
You might just take off by downloading the manual and the missions itself. It has quite an impressive list of islands it already works on.
(Aiaktalik,Chernarus,Falluja,Everon,Podragorsk,Isla-Duala,Japahto,Kulima,Lingor,Namalsk,Panthera,Proving Grounds,Quesh Kibrul,Sbrodj,Shapur,Six Little Snow Land,Six Little Green Bags,Takistan,Thirsk,Thirsk Winter,Utes,Zargabad)

Manuals and mission's files download can be found at the next post by Shay_gman
**thanks armaholic for providing the upload information*****

How do i install this?
Simple put the PBO files into your mpmissions folder of your arma2 or OA directory. If you dont know how to do that. There is plenty of help on armaholic on how to get MP missions working.
After you put the MP missions there you can simple go to multiplayer and start a new local server to play it. Or and thats even better, put them on your dedicated server. Yes this will fully work on a dedicated server OFCOURSE.

What mods are required to use this missions?
Required

: @CBA, ACE mod
Optional : @RTE

CBA is used internaly to make the system work. So without a doubt you need that.MCC is optimized to make full use of all that is deliverd by ACE. It also makes use of automated gear scripts to provide you ready to go Crew Served Weapons and much more. For that we would almost say: ACE Required.
RTE is supported in MCC.

So show us the money man. What the hell is it now?
We can provide you a few interesting youtubes that should be able to help you out in using MCC. Keep in mind the idea's are endless. You will have to simple use it to understand what we mean.

Manual part 1:
M4YT_kSW94Y

Manual part 2:
xXK6D-BN-wA

Manual part 3:
fcMGY_pY8zc

Manual part 4:
BZ07FfdlrYY

But its going even crazier then that. Shay went completely nuts and started the following as you might have seen on armaholic.

Quote shay_gman :

I just wanted to inform you all on the progress on the MCC Sandbox. Now, introducing the IED/traps module. It is inspired by VBS2 IED module. Check the new vids.

Features:
- Electronic Warfare: Jam radio triggered IEDs.
- Ambush: Click and drag in order to place ambushing parties looking in the right direction. They will stay prone and hidden till the IED is triggered or until mission maker will trigger the ambush party.
- Claymores: Click and drag in order to place claymores and pomz facing the right direction.
- Custom markers: Each feature has it unique marker shown only for the mission maker including sync lines. Marker will be deleted after the IED/ambush has been triggered.
- Minefields: Place single mine or minefields. Ranging from AP to AT mines hidden or visible minefields.
- Suicide bombers: Will lock, run and explode on target faction vehicles and soldiers.
- Armed civilians/Collaborators: Will randomly draw weapons and will engage the target faction.
- Disarming: IEDs can be disarmed or naturalized by destroying them.
- Sync: Hold shift and drag mouse cursor in order to create daisy-chain ambush by linking IEDs and ambushing parties.
- MP proof and savable: All as part of MCC Sandbox is MP proof and Savable.


New Traps/IED Module:
cEVa-51N-00

Ambush the easy way:
MQ4iZvEsjTE

So is there more to say?
For full features and use please take a look at the manual. That said. The manual is not fully up to date even now as improvements keep going. So please start it up and start your experience. Please take it easy the first time. Just start up MCC menu. Create a zone and spawn some units. We provide you with a selection of preferred weapons you like to start with for any group. Be it CQB or Scoped. YOu can just simple select that in the parameters of the lobby screen.

Does MCC support new mods?
MCC will automaticly detect new units and factions. That means everything as mod you use that is spawnable will be spawnable and usable by MCC.

How are the mission using MCC?
Endless. At MARSOC we dont even use other missions then this. First of all our group is to lazy to use the 2d editor and third it provides exactly what we need. If you want sneaky SF missions or carrier start helicopter insertions, or you want boat landings, full assault mission. You think of it, it can make it. And better yet, it can safe it for you to play again on another day. Have fun there!

Its great but can we rip it for our own use?
You rip what you like and make it fit for your own group. Have fun there man! It does make it a bit tricky to stay up to date on our updates that will surely follow. But thats your own choice in there.

Why is MCC not a mod?
Scroll one up and see why. We want all to use it in any way they like without the need for extra mods.

Ok i have read it all. Give me a quick tour
Select any slot on any side you like in the lobby. Start the game. Scroll your mouse wheel. Select mission generator.
The GUI will show up. Simple select a zone like stated in the manual. After that select a start location. Spawn some units in the zone. VOILA First mission done. They automaticly patrol that zone.

NEVER EVER FORGET TO CREATE A START LOCATION. That is only possible after first logging into MCC. Taht is done by creating a zone. Yes this means you can start your mission anywhere you like. Even JIP's will start there. Yes each side can have its own start location for PVP or mixed missions with AI. After selecting a start location you can choose to "disable respawn", this means respawn is off from there on.

Disclaimer
Using this product is for your entertainment. We also created this with just fun in mind. Lets keep it that way. We do not support and do not allow any commercial use and neither are we capable of giving that permission as it holds lots of content of other people creating amazing new content. In no way can you knock on our door if this products produces any harm or damage, although i cant realy think of any way, i know people are creative.

THANKS AND ENJOY THE FUN

On behalf of Shay Gman and Spirit, have fun!

Edited by spirit6, 06 February 2011 - 19:51.


shay_gman
shay_gman

    First Sergeant

  • Members
  • 956 posts

  • Joined: 29-December 2009

Posted 06 January 2011 - 20:28 #2

Manual: http://yoma.bssnet.d.../Manual MCC.pdf Might take a minute to open up. Please read the menual before asking questions.

Download the PBO files here:
http://www.gamefront...ANDBOX_V162.rar


"If you're experiencing problems with Unicode (Cyrillic, Russian etc.) texts in MCC breifings during SAFE-textfile-LOAD procedure, please, use ArmaEDIT to paste safed data, save it into files and loading back to MCC later." - Thanks Zvukoper

Version 1.5 changelog:
Spoiler


Version 1.51 changelog:
Spoiler


Version 1.5.2 changelog:
Spoiler


Version 1.5.3 changelog:
Spoiler


Version 1.5.4 changelog:
Spoiler


Version 1.5.5 changelog:
Spoiler


Version 1.5.6 changelog:
Spoiler


Version 1.5.7 changelog:
Spoiler


Version 1.5.8 changelog:
Spoiler


Version 1.6 changelog:
Spoiler


Version 1.6.1 changelog:
Spoiler


Version 1.6.2 changelog:
Spoiler


Version 1.5.2 features: 3D Spawner & AH64 + ULB
4O_60deeD8o

Version 1.5.2 features: Construction module:
_o14QT_006I

Version 1.5.7 features:
zELyb7tvKNQ

Version 1.5.8 MCC Close Air Support :
Dva1gtmNLJU

Edited by shay_gman, 24 September 2011 - 20:42.
V1.5.2 release


Thread Starter
spirit6
spirit6

    Gunnery Sergeant

  • Members
  • 551 posts

  • Joined: 05-June 2009

Posted 06 January 2011 - 20:31 #3

**** reserved for future use****

Chill xl
Chill xl

    Staff Sergeant

  • Members
  • 205 posts

  • Joined: 15-April 2009

Posted 06 January 2011 - 20:49 #4

Pretty impressive stuff there m8, seems to provide never ending fun! :)

Sandbox ftw hooaaaah!!!

kremator
kremator

    Major

  • Members
  • 7530 posts

  • Joined: 08-June 2007

Posted 06 January 2011 - 20:59 #5

Thanks for this ... will give it a good run. As I tend to use VTS exclusively I should be able to give you a good perspective on how this runs in comparison.

Thanks again !

Looks like I'm going to have to update my ACE just to have a peek.

Edited by Kremator, 06 January 2011 - 21:01.


foxhound
foxhound

    Retired Moderator

  • Members
  • 11381 posts

  • Joined: 06-June 2005

Posted 06 January 2011 - 21:42 #6

Release frontpaged on the Armaholic homepage.

Posted Image
Mission Control Center Sandbox v1.5

Posted Image
Community Base Addons



PS:
Can you please replace the links in your first post with these? That server might not like the attention your release attracts ;)
The manual link is available on the downloadpage too as a new mirror, you can link to that one as well.
Visit Armaholic.com | Visit Carriercommandaholic.com
Posted Image
Public FTP available, just check the Armaholic.com FAQ.

HMM........wonder what it is huh?

Thread Starter
spirit6
spirit6

    Gunnery Sergeant

  • Members
  • 551 posts

  • Joined: 05-June 2009

Posted 06 January 2011 - 21:45 #7

PS:
Can you please replace the links in your first post with these? That server might not like the attention your release attracts ;)
The manual link is available on the downloadpage too as a new mirror, you can link to that one as well.


Doing it as you read. Thanks for the fast release on page Fox.

svenson
svenson

    Lance Corporal

  • Members
  • 53 posts

  • Joined: 22-December 2010

Posted 06 January 2011 - 22:39 #8

Wow, really impressive. Phantastic work! Is there any chance for a non-ACE-version?

shay_gman
shay_gman

    First Sergeant

  • Members
  • 956 posts

  • Joined: 29-December 2009

Posted 06 January 2011 - 23:21 #9

Wow, really impressive. Phantastic work! Is there any chance for a non-ACE-version?


It will be too much work plus ArmA 2 alone dosn't carry enough punch to make all the crazy ideas we had. Try using ACE you won't regret it.

katipo66
katipo66

    Warrant Officer

  • Members
  • 2589 posts

  • Joined: 09-September 2009

Posted 06 January 2011 - 23:40 #10

Hey thanks for this, looks great except its giving me a "You cannot play this mission... dependency on ace" error

*Edit* sorry i thought it didnt require ace
:icon_eek: :popcornsmilie:

radical.ghost
radical.ghost

    Lance Corporal

  • Members
  • 56 posts

  • Joined: 18-October 2007

Posted 07 January 2011 - 02:21 #11

Thank you very much!

Just tried it out and I must say this is truly awesome.
Great fun and works very well.

One question:
I could not find the Chernarus version of the MCC Sandbox in the download package, was it purposely not included?


Thank you for your attention,

r:g

Edited by radical.ghost, 07 January 2011 - 02:25.

Posted Image
Posted Image

D3lta
D3lta

    Gunnery Sergeant

  • Members
  • 414 posts

  • Joined: 03-July 2009

Posted 07 January 2011 - 03:16 #12

Amazing tool!!! Thanks !!!

Kingsmurfy
Kingsmurfy

    Lance Corporal

  • Members
  • 49 posts

  • Joined: 25-July 2010

Posted 07 January 2011 - 08:05 #13

Agreed, this is absolutely awesome. Haven't put this down for hours.

One thing however, how do I set waypoints for units that are spawned?

Voodoonice
Voodoonice

    Lance Corporal

  • Members
  • 54 posts

  • Joined: 27-August 2007

Posted 07 January 2011 - 08:34 #14

I loved the VTS, I love MCC :D

One thing however, how do I set waypoints for units that are spawned?


You use the mod with @RTE ?

Thread Starter
spirit6
spirit6

    Gunnery Sergeant

  • Members
  • 551 posts

  • Joined: 05-June 2009

Posted 07 January 2011 - 08:50 #15

Agreed, this is absolutely awesome. Haven't put this down for hours.

One thing however, how do I set waypoints for units that are spawned?


MCC itself has been created with replayablitiy in mind. This means we require the AI to be self organising. UPSMON script(based on UPS script) has taken a great deal of that goal and should get the credits for being our main engine. Even the mission maker does not know EXACTLY where the units are going. He can be more sure of that ofcourse if he creates a small zone of only 10 by 10 meter. If however the zone is 2 by 2 kilometer. Yes then it will be indeed hard to know where they are. Taht is working as intended.

Also keep in mind the "save" option of MCC is saving the REQUEST. This means the outcome of that request is randomized next time you load op a saved mission. Yes this means that units will again be randomized into the zone where they were suppose to be spawned. Making replayabality even higher. So reqeust stuff was maybe not clear. Let me clarify:
MCC Client is requesting the server to execute what you desire. This means the CLIENT Request a group of infantry to be spawned in zone ONE for example. That request is processed on the (dedicated) server. This means the spawned units are not local but on server. The Save option of MCC saves the REQUEST and not the processed result. For that randomizing happens after loading the same missiona again. Providing you replayability.

In short answer it is a no, you cant create waypoints directly. It would conflict with the goal of MCC. The long answer is yes you can. I show you a trick or 2:

Depending on the behavior of a spawned group or unit they will react to a zone that moved. The idea is to give the mission maker full control over WHAT should be happening and let the AI orginise HOW it should be happening. So about the behavior: Lets spawn a group of infantry in Zone ONE for example with behavior agressive. (see manual for full explanation of behavior.

Now after you spawned the units, MOVE that zone to a new locaton. The units will relocate to the new zone and continue their patrolling into the location of the zone.

As the AI is suppose to handle itself it will try to find ways to organise this request to relocate. This means if they find any transportantion possible they will use it. Yes, trucks, cars and even helicopters will be used if they were provided with it. This means you can spawn EMPTY trucks and cars in teh zone and the AI group that is spawned will use it when either the zone is huge and they need transportation OR the zone is moved futher then 1 click and they need transportation to get there. yes they even steal CIV cars if they need that to get the job done.

So this way you can sort of create waypoints. Its actualy even more powerfull then a waypoint as you can spawn a complete army in a zone and then simple relocate them all by moving taht zone. Giving whole army's moving over the map. I would recommand experimenting with that.

MCC can also relocate zones based on events (triggers). For that see the manual.

Apart from my already way to long answer. Also RTE is supported. RTE is capable of making explicit waypoints. Its not the goal of MCC to create explicit waypoints and with RTE you already can. So if you like that fire up RTE mod and MCC will support that.

One more nice to know fact. If you have an army spawned in zone ONE and relocate it. They will activly use that area when arrive as it shoudl fit. This means if the target area of the relocated zone holds for example M2 guns they will get into it.

As you can see. The idea is at all times to make sure the mission maker can control WHAT should happen and give the AI the HOW it should happen. Keep that in mind and also keep in mind AI limitations a bit as you go and explore more complex setups.

Also keep in mind that the overview of zones is for the mission maker eyes only. All the overviews of where the zones are is only visible on the map by the mission maker(localy created). No other player sees anything apart from intended markers. The markers that are created with MCC are JIP friendly. This means when a JIP joins in mission, it will see the provided markers and even the objective if typed out by the mission maker. Making it all very JIP friendly.

Hope this typing helps and i hope i didnt make it a to boring read.

Spirit

---------- Post added at 09:50 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:47 AM ----------

Thank you very much!

Just tried it out and I must say this is truly awesome.
Great fun and works very well.

One question:
I could not find the Chernarus version of the MCC Sandbox in the download package, was it purposely not included?


Thank you for your attention,

r:g


Chernarus is in the list of supported islands and should be in the ZIP file. If its not then i will post a correction tonight and make sure its in there.

Edited by spirit6, 07 January 2011 - 09:08.


Kingsmurfy
Kingsmurfy

    Lance Corporal

  • Members
  • 49 posts

  • Joined: 25-July 2010

Posted 07 January 2011 - 08:54 #16

Nope, that was exactly what I was looking for, thanks for the information and ideas spirit and thank you once again for the addon :)

Thread Starter
spirit6
spirit6

    Gunnery Sergeant

  • Members
  • 551 posts

  • Joined: 05-June 2009

Posted 07 January 2011 - 09:02 #17

Hey thanks for this, looks great except its giving me a "You cannot play this mission... dependency on ace" error

*Edit* sorry i thought it didnt require ace


Yes we use ACE and for that the depency is i think int here. You can however remove the depency yourself if you desire by unpbo the mission and edit the mission file itself. Simple remove ACE addon requirements in that file. You will limit yourself however greatly in the full functionality. We wont be able to support you in what does and does not work however.

If somebody has a full working non aced version, then by all means share it here. I think more would like that.

shay_gman
shay_gman

    First Sergeant

  • Members
  • 956 posts

  • Joined: 29-December 2009

Posted 07 January 2011 - 09:15 #18

You use the mod with @RTE ?


Yes RTE mod will give the extra mile you required. You can open it from MCC with a map click or at the player and you can copy to clipboard the init for creating the unit spawned as an hostage or armed civilian.

With RTE you can spawn groups, set WP and WP behavior and place unit inside or on rooftops. So if u need that extra mile open it.

Richey79
Richey79

    Gunnery Sergeant

  • Members
  • 585 posts

  • Joined: 19-June 2009

Posted 07 January 2011 - 10:08 #19

First impressions are that it is very, very good. Spectacularly-good user interface.

A couple of compatibility issues:

- It didn't recognise that many units from addons for me (may be user error). Okay, just needs patience for the LAN server to calculate things. Works within 15 seconds usually with any addon, which is actually pretty impressive.
- Most of the enemies I spawned would surrender for some reason within seconds (compatibility problem with Group Link 4?).

Chernarus does seem to be missing from the MP files.

Edited by Richey79, 07 January 2011 - 10:23.

'Arma will gradually turn into a science of practical application and gain forms of inter-planetary communication. The first inter-planetary tournament between the teams of prague and mother bear's star cluster will end with a decisive victory of Praguers, hooray comrades!' - Adjutant.

Thread Starter
spirit6
spirit6

    Gunnery Sergeant

  • Members
  • 551 posts

  • Joined: 05-June 2009

Posted 07 January 2011 - 10:18 #20

First impressions are that it is very, very good. Spectacularly-good user interface.

A couple of compatibility issues:

- It didn't recognise that many units from addons for me (may be user error). Okay, just needs patience for the LAN server to calculate things. Works within 15 seconds usually with any addon, which is actually pretty impressive.
- Most of the enemies I spawned would surrender for some reason within seconds (compatibility problem with Group Link 4?).


So far we have found it recognizes any mod we used. But if the units are incorrectly having names on faction setup and eventual use in the config file then it wont be able to recognize it.

MCC does not support other mods influencing AI behavior but you are free to explore ofcourse. This tool has been used for over a year allready close to every night. I assure you the ai wont by default surrender. How that works in combination with Group Link 4? I dont know and we wont be able to give you support on that. Other then that this behavior i assume to come from Group Link 4. If you have this behavior on a clean setup then please let us know, but i would be highly suprised.

Chernarus will be added.

Edited by spirit6, 07 January 2011 - 10:26.