Sign in to follow this  
kiory

Group, Side and Direct chat.

Hey guys, new here, long time lurker.

I've been wracking my brains for at least 2 hours now trying to get my character to talk in the above channels.

I've named the unit you play as "Team_1", I like to keep things simple, I have a trigger set up in an area that the player will not be able to avoid, so I know it's in the right spot, for conditions I have "this", which is most likely correct. On Act I have "Team_1 groupChat "blah blah"" (don't confuse the quotes here, they are in the right place), for some reason this works on global fine, but any of the other channels and the message won't appear, normally this would be fine, but considering I have several teams miles apart, they shouldn't be able to see each others messages.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

I'm thinking that it's possibly something to do with creating a config file, but as a complete newbie I wouldn't know where to start....

Thanks in advance!

Edited by Kiory

Hello Kiory

This is what you must do in order for it to work.

Make lets say a group of 4 people. Call the leader unit1

Now make a trigger that is set to true on mission start, so for example but the trigger set to search for bluefor in 50m radius and put a blufor inside.

Now on the activation put: unit1 setGroupId ["Delta"]

Now anyone in the group that talks in side chat will have the name delta. You can't give it to every individual person because it is set that the group leader would use that channel to talk to other group leader and the hq.

Now everything should work fine

For some reason I couldn't get vehical chat to work out so far but I'm sure Ill figur it out

hope it helped

frostwolf

I really appreciate the time you are taking to help me, but that solution doesn't seem to work, have you tested it yourself?