Sign in to follow this  
zsawyer

[WIP] Mod for Mumble's link plugin

Hello,

I just would like to let you guys know that I am currently working on implementing a mod that will support/use mumble's link plugin to get positional audio working.

Basically this will be a work-around until (hopefully sometime) BIS will support mumble's link plugin without requiring a modification.

The project can be found over at Dev-Heaven and will be free and open-source (LGLP3):

https://dev-heaven.net/projects/mumblelink

I have got experience with this kind of thing as I already have successfully done exactly this (a mod) for Minecraft (https://sourceforge.net/projects/modmumblelink/). Using my experience and code from that project I am hoping I can adapt it to Arma2/Arma2OA.

While I am quite confident of achieving this I could still use some help from the community. I am not very experienced in making Addons/Mods for Arma2. I only had a little glance at SQFs from MSO, FPScounter and of course the BIKI.

Mumble requires information about the player to compute the positional audio. Extracting this information from the available functions is proving difficult but I think I have found some promising interfaces that might work: https://dev-heaven.net/projects/mumblelink/wiki/Developer%27s_notes

Basically there are 3 things I need right now:

1. avatar's positional data
  2. camera's positional data
  3. avatar's meta data

This consists of 3 vectors:

1. location in the world

2. which direction is forward

3. which direction is upward

This consists of 3 vectors (very similar to avatar):

1. location in the world

3. avatar's meta data

This is data related to the player. For identification and grouping.

Minimum should be:

1. player identity (nick name or UID)

Optimal would be:

1. player identity (UID)

2. server identity (IP/IP+port or UID or server name)

3. player's team

4. player's squad

Note: The meta data is intended for mumble's "context" (