Montgomery

Bad ArmA Trends

I consider myself somewhat experienced. I'm approaching 40 years old. I spent about 7 years in the Army. I spent a year in Iraq. I read a lot about military history and I watch a lot of military documentaries. There are two things which I consider "bad arma trends" and I wanted to see how other members of the community felt about it.

The first one is wearing NVGs without a helmet. In all my time, I have never seen or heard of anyone doing this. I'm not saying that I'm an expert. I'm not saying that no one in the history of the military has never done it. Have any of you ever seen or heard of any military unit wearing NVGs without a helmet in real life?

The second one is the masks that don't cover your nose. Again, this is something that I have never personally seen during my time in the military. When I was in the military I spent time in a variety of environments, from extremely cold (Alaska) to extremely hot (Kuwait and Iraq). The closest thing we ever had was called a neck gaiter, but I never saw anyone have it just covering their mouth. It was always pulled up to also cover their nose.

What do you guys think? Are there other "bad arma trends" that aren't realistic that bother you?

Please be civil and let's not let this thread turn into a bunch of rude remarks.

Can't say much about the masks but special forces use NVGs without a helmet.

E.g. http://photobw.info/kommando-spezialkrafte-183

In terms of Arma it doesn't really bother me, I never noticed it. :icon5: I'm not ingame at the moment but AFAIR in Arma the NVGs aren't the ones attaches to a helmet. They are those that you can strap on your head. If you're wearing a helmet, all that happens is that the straps disappear because of the helmet, but the NVGs are still strapped to your head.

• Like 1

Wearing an AT launcher, a .50cal anti material rifle and a backpack filled with satchels while flying a plane doesn't happen in the military either.