Sign in to follow this  
Sirex1

Having trouble passing vehicle in init.sqf.

This is my first time scripting and i am making an mechanized infantry tactic script and i am having some trouble.

First is passing the vehicles from init.sqf to my script. It is for BMP-3 that i have named "ifv1", "ifv2","ifv3", "ifv4" in mission editor.

_ifvArray=[];
{
	if (side _x == "EAST" && _x name!=null) {
		if(!((assignedVehicle _x) in _ifvArray))
		{
		        _ifvArray=_ifvArray+[_x assignedVehicle];
		};
	};
}forEach allUnits;
hint "start";	
null = [_ifvArray] execVM "mechInfTac\mechInfTac_init.sqf";

The hint start won't show.

I used null = [ifv1,ifv2,ifv3,ifv4] execVM "mechInfTac\mechInfTac_init.sqf"; with "" around ifvX and not "" around ifvX, neither worked. But i later realized that either mean a simple string or unknow object, correct?

Then it problem with a for loop in my mechInfTac_init.sqf script.

if (!isServer) exitWith {};

private ["_ifvArray"];
_ifvArray = _this select 0;
_ifvInfantryArray=[objNull,objNull];

hint "a";

// Connects cargo infantry with IFV
for [{_a=0}, {_a<4}, {_a=_a+1}] do {

hint "b";
	_ifvInfantryArray set _a assignedCargo (_ifvArray select _a);
		// sleep 0.1;
}; 
hint "c";

I have written more code for the actual tactics but that requires that this first basic assignment code works. The goal is to make this very generic and dynamic for easy use in other peoples script but just now i am just testing so sorry if the code is a bit static.

So does anyone spot the problem?

Thanks on beforehand!

This belongs to Mission editing & scripting asa this here is the addons related part of the editing forum.

Okay i was unsure. Could a moderator move this please?

Anyone knows what's wrong?

(Yeah i am bumbing but to be fair my thread was moved here and did not originate on the first page in this section)

You could skip all that and just do this maybe?

Place Functions module first.