Sign in to follow this  
ladlon

Innocent question regarding movement speed

Again, I'm relatively new to the 'true military technique', so here's an innocent question...

How fast would a fireteam generally move across the terrain? At this point, if called to a point on the map for some Secom mission, I usually find myself running there, but am fully aware that this may very well not be the proper method.

On one hand, I would think that the team would move slowly and carefully... but at the same time (especially in the case of assisting friendlies under fire, etc) I would think they would rush there as fast as possible.

Just trying to get a sense of what the 'correct' way is... and of moving across the map in general. If things SEEM clear, is the team just walking along, down a road, guns down?

(Seems this MIGHT be a good time to dive into that tactics guide everyone gets pointed to, eh?)

it all depends on the time you have allotted, the slower the better- youll have better stamina thus aim more accurately when you make contact, and your situational awareness is much higher moving slower, but without a doubt there will be times when running is the preferred choice for like you say, if friendly are needing assistance, or moving cover to cover under fire running is idea, but you get the picture

Depends on the urgency of the objective.

If a friendly squad is under heavy fire and you need to flank the opfor before they encircle your guys, time is of the essence and you'll have to get there as fast as possible.

That doesnt mean however you should run headlong into battle with little to no care.

As to 'guns down', this is something no soldier would do unless he is on a patrol with little expectancy to see combat.

Once you are thinking you might see action, it's usually best to have your weapon in a 'low-ready' state.