Sign in to follow this  
Scillion

Beta patching - no beta file

I run the beta patch and it makes it to the point where it's patching. At about 15% it just finishes and gives me an error that the program may not have installed correctly.

This happens with all beta patches. downloaded more than one.

I feel it's some setting in my computer. What could it be?

I7 processor

Windows 7 64 (happened with vista 64 too)

3 gig

I'm not using steam

I've never used a beta before

Looks like I have one of those bugs that only I have. :(

Edited by Scillion

Dont worry about it.. it installed just fine. had win7 too, and got that one too. your installation is fine

yeah my windows 7 does the same. but on my windows 7 i have to reinstall arma 2 very often because arma screws itself up everytime i install the second or third beta(with uninstalling the old one).

but i think it´s related to the rc1 i use.

@xXxatrush1987: Win7 RC1 (64bit) and A2 betas work just fine here. Do you get any error message when arma screws itself up?

EDIT: Just to clarify I too get the 'program may not have installed correctly' error message after installation and clicking 'OK'. But the betas still work flawlessly.

(Installed under C:\ARMA2\ if that makes a difference.)

Edited by Rok

I don't have any problems with Win7 x64 either, 6.1.7600 - no messages about the installation failing etc.

However... I do have Arma installed under C:\Games\Arma 2, not under program files - so maybe the mysterious magical directory protection is at play for those having that problem?

Just to be clear, I don't get a beta folder in my aram2 directory. I thought that was the whole point. :confused:

---------- Post added at 03:27 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:22 PM ----------

Wow - I now know the problem. Window's 7 (vista also) places an extra Arma2 folder in another location.