Sign in to follow this  
Herbal Influence

Game CPU-Optimization - no troubleshooting !

Hi cogamers,

there is a rumour around that Arma2 can be greatly optimized concerning cpu usage.

And this THESIS I want to discuss about.

Some early points to begin with:

- some players (Intel as AMD users) claim low cpu usage

- and little cpu-channel usage

- "doesn't seem to use the pagefile...I've watched HDD access and well....Theres nothing being written to the pagefile at all.", says Masterfragg

My personal impression is that Arma2 simply needs a very good cpu and this NOT FOR NO REASON but for gameplay, graphics, AI intelligence. So that's my thesis too.

My cpu does a 55 up to 90 %, mostly over 75 % usage which I find optimal - but I am no expert.

No troubleshooting discussion please!

No graphic tuning discussion - there are other threads!

Thanx, Herbal

Edited by Herbal Influence

My personal impression is that Arma2 simply needs a very good cpu and this NOT FOR NO REASON but for gameplay, graphics, AI intelligence. So that's my thesis too.

All BIS games have been very CPU taxing because of their complexity and scale but i dont understand A2's steep requirements, most people here seem to accept them but i dont think they are really justified, though BIS have been using the excuse that the game is very big, complex and you can go anywhere, its the same game.

A2 gameplay didnt really change compared to Armed Assault, they scripted a few new features/functions that didnt work properly, simulation and gameplay is the same, vehicles still poorly simulated are the same.

AI increased awareness, precision and cover system i could agree with, though the game can still struggle just by drawing scenery.

Technical changes to the game? Multi cpu core support and shadder model 3, shouldnt those make the game more efficient than before :confused: ?

Picture this..

Multiple CPU core support didnt work quite as expected.

Features and functions poorly implemeted.