Sign in to follow this  
Captain Data

Too difficult even on Easy Setting ?

First: ArmA is great, much better than OFP, great athmospere etc. Okay, but why talking 'bout things we all know?

I am a Vet of OFP and dozens of other tactical games, a MP-Crack (one of the better ones in Red Orchestra), so I am not THAT inexperienced. But I think, ArmA is even more hard then the reality! Nothing about realism, weapons are simulated well, same for vehicles etc, but let us talk about "AI".

- AI seems to be either real stupid or real good. Nothing 'bout that, because we know there are stupid AND genius-like people on the world. But what about a well trained soldier that even can't find a way out of a market? Sometimes they even can't move arround a tree or get stuck in obstacles.

Yes I know its difficult to create a good Idea, but Pathfinding should be not THAT problem (especially today).

- On the other Hand: Almost every soldier, even the dumbest recruit seems to be a crackshot by nature: Example ? "Destroy that bridge in Dolores". No problem so far, but if someone spots you (even if he doesn't know that you are here) he shots exactly 1 ( ! ) times and *crack* your skull is open. On "easy" setting, AI on "recruit". Funny? Nope. Realistic ? No. In Reality, a soldier doesn't know where the enemy is, especially after a "shock"-moment (remember: I destroyed a Bridge just 30s ago! ) That means: Please no more headshooting soldiers if they just spot you by "random checkin' horizon" (at 100m and more).

Same problem, other location: Almost every ground is covered by gras. No problem, thats realistic. I think, its realism too that you can't see the enemy while proning in gras. Stupid thing: AI sees you and you are dead. Below 100m instantly because of headshooting foes.