Sign in to follow this  
DarkSchakal

Change player model ingame

Is it possible to change player model by a script, while ingame?

Thought of a mission, where you start as civilian, go to your HQ and get your uniform and weapons out of a crate.

Hm, basicly, no.

But there might be a little hack\way around because some missions have a respawn type if you die, you spawn into one of your AI allies.

Simply give "control" to a person with different uniform and delete the other from the game\position at 0,0,0.

Don't ask me how though, I've never tried it. But it might work, OFP's scripting engine is fairly powerful enough to do little tricks like that.

wink_o.gif

Wait for BN880, jacobaby, or one of the other numerous scripting gurus to give a visit and post their sentiments.

smile_o.gif

The only way to really switch bodies it to kill the original, and transfer the player into a new one via respawn.

Hiya

I'm kinda new to mission editing for ofp. I'm trying to make a script that switches out a soldier model for an officer model at a certain point, using a fade to black to cover up the switchout. Anyone have any ideas?

I know that there are helicopters out there that switch out destroyed models when they are shot down, so I imagine that it is at least possible in the game engine.

Also, how do I use a "removeaction" once the action in the action menu has been triggered?

Like Harnu said, maybe use a fade-to-black to kill your regular soldier model then respawn him as an officer? Either way, it's way too complicated for me. crazy_o.gif

Hiya

I'm kinda new to mission editing for ofp. I'm trying to make a script that switches out a soldier model for an officer model at a certain point, using a fade to black to cover up the switchout. Anyone have any ideas?

Maybe make the soldier the only person in his group and set the mission to group respawn. Then join another unit to the group and setdammage the player. He should be killed and respawn into the new unit.