Redphoenix

[Tutorial] Creating Custom Engine, Gearbox and Suspension [Vehicle config]

Several people have asked me until now how I edit all the vehicle configs, how I create engine and gearbox files and how to setup the suspension.

This tutorial therefore will be divided into three parts where I am going to show you, how I do this magic. I will provide dummy files you can use, I will also provide the necessary programs and editor as well as excel sheets.

But there are some things you have to get yourself:

First of all: Basic mechanic understanding. How does an engine work, how does a gearbox work, how does suspension work? How does an engine generate power and torque when aspirated with a turbocharger? How when aspirated normally? What happens if you will soften the suspension on the back axle? What exactly does an anti-rollbar? eca.... All this is needed to create a good working vehicle config. I don't want to say here that I am a master in mechanic, I am still learning all of this more or less on the fly.

For the purpose of this tutorial I am going to edit the config file of the civilian Transporter.

Files:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/84370332/Tutorial/Tutorial_files_engine.rar (checked with MS Essentials)

Contents:

Physicseditor.exe - http://www.nogripracing.com/forum/showpost.php?p=377688&postcount=5

Toms Engine Shop - http://www.nogripracing.com/details.php?filenr=10153

engine_calculation - Excel sheet to convert engine diagram into code. Versions for Office 2003 and Office 2007

pictures from this tutorial

this tutorial as a *.pdf - Removed until a full version is available.

This thread is full of helping ideas and hints:

http://forums.bistudio.com/showthread.php?149027-Primer-for-new-vehicle-simulation

BIWiki page:

http://community.bistudio.com/wiki/Arma_3_Cars_Config_Guidelines#Engine_parameters

You will need Notepad++ with the SQF-plugin, found on armaholic.

Part I

Engine