Page 10 of 57 FirstFirst ... 6789101112131420 ... LastLast
Results 91 to 100 of 561

  Click here to go to the first Developer post in this thread.  

Thread: Scripting Discussion (dev branch)

  1. #91
    Quote Originally Posted by Giallustio View Post
    So, if you have to clean up the map from all the weapons on the ground what are you going to do?
    I've to search one class only and delete all the array ("groundweaponholder").
    I was thinking about starting from position [0,0] and then add 500 meters for every "square", but Altis is pretty large...
    Proper way would be to get references to the weapons from each player/AI entity and hold them in a list. Also keeping that list up to date is important (in case someone switches weapons and puts them back to some cargo unit).
    Then periodically check if that said weapon is in the cargo/hands/whatever of some unit. If it isn't, delete it.
    Note that I don't know if arma 3 has any functions for what I just said :P

    I suspect it's not possible with SQF, quick glance at the commands list doesn't show anything for it.

  2. #92
    Commands
    Code:
    setGearSlotAmmoCount, setIDCAmmoCount, gearIDCAmmoCount, gearSlotAmmoCount
    Were never documented from the 1.62.93945 in ArmA 2. I only know limited amount of detail about these and I think that some people would find the documentation pretty useful, thanks.

  3. #93
    Are those even valid in ArmA 3? We have an entirely different inventory system now don't we?

  4.   Click here to go to the next Developer post in this thread.   #94
    BI Developer DarkDruid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 11 2011
    Location
    Brno, Czech Republic
    Posts
    240
    Borivoj Hlava (game designer)

  5. #95
    Quote Originally Posted by DarkDruid View Post
    Some new commands added into the list:

    - setPitch
    - setSpeaker
    - setNameSound
    - setName
    This mean we can "setIdentity" without cfgIdentities in description.ext now. That's a little confusing. Neat I guess, but confusing since if you don't setName and setNamesound both then you'll get a mismatch for example.

    Also, boo on "fixing" this non-issue. Having removeAllContainers leave the visual uniform was an extremely useful feature.

  6. #96
    Can we have clearItemCargoGlobal fixed already? This bug was in from day 1 of Alpha, this is ridiculous! http://feedback.arma3.com/view.php?id=7876

  7. #97
    Warrant Officer Sniperwolf572's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 23 2004
    Location
    Bosnia & Herzegovina
    Posts
    2,833
    Quote Originally Posted by kylania View Post
    This mean we can "setIdentity" without cfgIdentities in description.ext now. That's a little confusing. Neat I guess, but confusing since if you don't setName and setNamesound both then you'll get a mismatch for example.
    I'm not sure what's confusing about it. Identities are templates which you can call on anyone with a single line of code, while these are for adjusting specific things on the fly. In regards to nameSound, if you fail to set it, unit is referred to by it's number. You can create such "mismatches" with CfgIdentities anyway, this just lets you do stuff on the fly, instead of needing to have it configured in config/description beforehand.

    For example, ACE headgear stuff in A2 would have been much more sanely done if we had some of these getters/setters available in A2 instead of having to go through the partial userconfig solution.

  8. #98
    The confusion would be if all you set was the setNameSound. You'd end up with a guy named "O'Connor" that you keep calling "Givens" when you order him around is all. I'm all for the addition of these commands, very cool stuff.

  9. #99
    Warrant Officer Sniperwolf572's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 23 2004
    Location
    Bosnia & Herzegovina
    Posts
    2,833
    Quote Originally Posted by kylania View Post
    The confusion would be if all you set was the setNameSound. You'd end up with a guy named "O'Connor" that you keep calling "Givens" when you order him around is all. I'm all for the addition of these commands, very cool stuff.
    Well, yeah, but you can do such things with CfgIdentities as well. :P

    One good thing about your example would be that you could have a guy with a normal name everywhere but with a namesound nickname "Nomad".

  10. #100
    Second Lieutenant GossamerSolid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 3 2006
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    4,319
    https://community.bistudio.com/wiki/drawIcon3D

    This command still doesn't seem to allow images in a mission folder (unless I'm missing something).

    ArmA 3 - GWAR3
    ArmA 2 - PCDF | Gossamer's Warfare
    PC - i5 3570K | EVGA GTX 780 ACX | 16GB DDR3


Page 10 of 57 FirstFirst ... 6789101112131420 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Fixed Wing Flight Model (dev branch)
    By dezkit in forum ARMA 3 - DEVELOPMENT BRANCH
    Replies: 322
    Last Post: Nov 17 2014, 20:44
  2. Dev Branch via SteamCMD since Release?
    By sancron in forum ARMA 3 - SERVERS & ADMINISTRATION
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Sep 23 2013, 21:45
  3. Are you going to stay on Stable or Dev Branch?
    By Smurf in forum ARMA 3 - BETA DISCUSSION
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: Sep 13 2013, 19:13
  4. Dev Branch
    By Arma_Bob in forum ARMA 3 - SERVERS & ADMINISTRATION
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 18 2013, 15:17
  5. Keep both DEV and main branch
    By Ceh in forum ARMA 3 - BETA DISCUSSION
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: Apr 8 2013, 17:33

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •