Page 227 of 365 FirstFirst ... 127177217223224225226227228229230231237277327 ... LastLast
Results 2,261 to 2,270 of 3647

  Click here to go to the first Developer post in this thread.  

Thread: Low CPU utilization & Low FPS

  1. #2261
    Sergeant Major MavericK96's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 3 2004
    Location
    Anacortes, WA, USA
    Posts
    1,844
    Well, in early Alpha we didn't have Altis. Still, yeah, it's definitely been feeling worse lately.
    Core i7 920 @ 3.995 GHz, HT off
    12 GB OCZ DDR3-1600
    Galaxy GTX 680 (light overclock)
    Samsung 830 Series 256 GB SSD
    Windows 7 Pro x64

    ArmA2/OA Settings:
    1920x1080 w/ View Distance at ~3600
    Video Memory at Default
    MSAA Very High, AToC=0, SMAA Ultra
    Post Processing at Very Low
    All other settings at Very High

  2. #2262
    Quote Originally Posted by MavericK96 View Post
    Well, in early Alpha we didn't have Altis. Still, yeah, it's definitely been feeling worse lately.
    I'm comparing Stratis to Stratis. I noticed performance declining over the course of the Beta and into release.

  3. #2263
    Quote Originally Posted by JumpingHubert View Post
    from GTX570 to R9 290 in helo´s Altis-Benchmark: from 48fps to.......................................48fps LOL. I think I have to push my 3570k from 4,9GHZ to 15GHZ.
    Mine was 42fpsFX8350,HD7950 both at stock clocks and I also only had 4gig ram when I did the benchmark.

    I also have a GT630 2gig,GT9800?,HD6850x2,HD6790,HD5700? GPUs and Fx8150 and Phenom II x4,955 cpus as well as mine(FX8350) that I could do benchmarks with.

    But I don't think Ill be surprised by the results of any combo of the above

  4. #2264
    helo´s Altis-Benchmark
    Gigabyte GeForce GT 630 PCI-E 2.0 2GB DDR3 331.65 Game Ready WHQL driver..$65 card
    FX8350,no OC
    4 gig ram
    39fps.

    I did OC the card to get 39fps,but stock was 31fps.

    The extra $244 I payed for the 7950 got me 3 fps more than the GT630.
    Last edited by AussieBobby; Nov 17 2013 at 07:04.

  5. #2265
    Sergeant Major OldBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 3 2006
    Location
    Marseille, France
    Posts
    1,820
    @ AussieBobby : the "weak link" is the FX8350, dump your extra $ on an i5 and you will get more than 3 FPS [have a look]
    You must remember that even if Arma games with Arma 3 are "GPU demanding" all the family is "CPU dependent".
    Last edited by Old Bear; Nov 17 2013 at 09:47.

  6. #2266
    Quote Originally Posted by Old Bear View Post
    @ AussieBobby : the "weak link" is the FX8350, dump your extra $ on an i5 and you will get more than 3 FPS [have a look]
    You must remember that even if Arma games with Arma 3 are "GPU demanding" all the family is "CPU dependent".
    Your excuse is the weak link.
    Ill upgrade cpu and gpu to the specs like the poster(JumpingHubert) I was replying to and get an extra 6fps.
    How about Tentpegs specs a few pages back
    6 Core i7 3970x OC'd to 4.8 Ghz
    16GB Corsair Dominator ram OC'd to 2133Mhz
    HD7990 GPU ( 6GB GDDR5 )
    another $2000 and Ill get 5fps more.

  7. #2267
    Sergeant Major OldBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 3 2006
    Location
    Marseille, France
    Posts
    1,820
    @ AussieBobby : who is looking for excuse ? I am playing Arma3 every days, for hours ... what else? And I am truly enjoying it on my main rig "i7 3770/GTX670OC/8Go/Arma3 Dedicated SSD", I am playing it in Single Player and Multi Players as well.

    Of course, I have tweaked my settings to get Arma3 playable @ 35/45 FPS and visually enjoyable on "Ultra", so I have a limited "Visibility" = 2000m and on the AA&PP section Blooms and Blurs are disabled and I use the "HardOcp Combo" : "FXAA Ultra+FSAA 2x".

    If you are neither a "60FPS or Death" syndrome nor "All 100% Full On" syndrom victim, I will suggest you to adapt to Arma3 reality. This game is offering unplayable settings such as "Ultra"/"Visibility" = 12000m/Sampling 200%, Bis is giving you freedom to do what is the best for you.

    It doesn't mean there are no problems, but you can enjoy Arma3 without looking for "excuses".

    My main concern is a about low end PCs built around the "minimum" specs. On such a rig like my "Athlon II x2 250" based Xperimental one, Single player and Campaign can be played at a decent 20/30 FPS but MP seems not playable, you can have a look at my small review : Arma3 'Minimum' specifications or ... is Arma 3 going to be playable on my Athlon II x2 250 / GTS 450 DDR3 ?

    To go back to the origin of this thread, on these tests, you can see that the CPU and GPU load is quite high in SP and Campaign, nearly always between 80% and 100% but in MP, the GPU load is falling to 30-50% in the most strange way, that can be a real issue!

    In fact Multi-Player, is the real problem.
    Playing a well built missions using foolproof scripts and player friendly parameters will help you getting a nice MP game experience even if you can expect a limited FPS loss [max 5/10].
    Playing a crappy mission on a crappy home-made server will probably end in "slideshow" state.
    This has nothing to do with the game itself but mainly with the ways the game is used, once again it's all about freedom and nothing Dev can repair with a patch.

  8. #2268
    Master Sergeant TSAndrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 21 2012
    Location
    Osijek, Croatia
    Posts
    679
    What's up with all the sudden BI defenders. Bad scripting isn't the only problem for bad MP performance. INFACT, why can a server even impact a clients performance?

  9. #2269
    Sergeant Major MavericK96's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 3 2004
    Location
    Anacortes, WA, USA
    Posts
    1,844
    This issue has been acknowledged by the developers themselves (not recently, but earlier in this very thread). It's not as if it's some nonsense made up by BIS haters.

  10. #2270
    Quote Originally Posted by MavericK96 View Post
    This issue has been acknowledged by the developers themselves (not recently, but earlier in this very thread). It's not as if it's some nonsense made up by BIS haters.
    And this thread is a sticky in the 'troubleshooting' forum --where players help other players optimize their gameplay.

    What's your problem? Post your specs, maybe we can help.

    Sorry, i don't see any "Bis, fix your game." stick anywhere, so you might be out of luck here.
    .

Page 227 of 365 FirstFirst ... 127177217223224225226227228229230231237277327 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Low Frame Rate With Serious CPU, 16GB Ram & 560TI??
    By redlantern901 in forum TAKE ON HELICOPTERS - TROUBLESHOOTING
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Mar 25 2013, 22:04
  2. [SOLVED] Low number of fps in ArrmA 2 & Operation Arrowhead
    By rafikrafik007 in forum ARMA 2 & OA - TROUBLESHOOTING
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: Aug 21 2012, 18:18
  3. CPU & GPU Utilization
    By Jocko-Flocko in forum ARMA 2 & OA - TROUBLESHOOTING
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: Apr 4 2011, 20:57
  4. Low fps even on low
    By seamus in forum ARMA 2 & OA - TROUBLESHOOTING
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Feb 9 2011, 15:37
  5. Replies: 6
    Last Post: Nov 13 2010, 21:22

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •