Sign in to follow this  
daringd

A Noob's experience of creating a new terrain with a bit of advice

So three months ago I was a complete noob to terrain making, sitting at the edge of the abyss, with an idea in my head and nothing more than a vague idea of how to accomplish it.

I trust a lot of you have been here or are there right now, so, at the suggestion of another user I thought I should write down some of my experiences and findings so all of the rest of you don’t feel so alone out there.

I’m not going to cover all the steps you need to take as a tutorial would, because there are some great tut’s out there, courtesy of Bushlurker and a few others, and I would start by saying, take their advice, to the letter because they know what they are talking about!

My findings so far…

At the start

Building a map is a huge undertaking. The phrase I would use to describe what you need is ‘mental toughness’. Don’t go into it unless you have a lot of patience and are prepared to constantly learn, compromise and stick with it. The programs you will use are buggy at times, other times you find it hard to believe that there is no simple way to do something, at first everything seems to fox you and have you posting on forums asking for advice. A lot of this is text book ‘learning by doing’