Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: A working non addon train

  1. #1
    Gunnery Sergeant Zonekiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 20 2005
    Location
    Queensland ***"Australia"
    Posts
    492

    A working non addon train

    after searching for some info about trains
    then posting and asking for some info
    then getting told to search again and my post closed.
    and still finding nothing of use.

    i decided to work it out myself - just took a lot longer than needed.

    so for anyone that needs a working train without addons this maybe for you.

    if it can be improved "im sure it can" please do so and post it up again
    as there are very little about trains in this forum.

    It works in MP also.

    it seems to work better in A2 than OA

    anyway have fun with it - jump on the gun and go for a ride





    Download Sample Mission Here
    ZKs_Train

    Download Scripts Here
    ZKs_Train_Scripts


    Welcome to the ZKs 3D Rail Track Finder
    Its very simple to use on any map.

    If you want to use this on a different map then
    open your editor.
    place a unit on the map - make it player.
    Give the unit a NAME.
    save the mission.
    copy all the files execpt mission.sqm to the saved mission folder.
    DONE YOUR READY TO GO.

    To use the ZKs 3D Rail Track Finder
    Start the mission.

    Once you in the mission
    Goto the map and click on the area you want to have the
    train move along.

    you unit will be placed there.

    Open the ZKs 3D Rail Track Finder action.

    place the ball at the start of your route.
    click Start.
    then Click Add Rail Tracks.

    Move with W - forward , S - Backwards , W & Up Arrow - Fast
    along the track -- Track IDs will be shown on the Mini Map
    if you make a mistake you can delete the markers and copied
    IDs one at a time from the last one by pressing Detete.
    Or you can delete the all of them by pressing INSERT.

    once you have your route - keep in mind you only
    need to go one way as the train will travel both ways -
    also try and go one stop further at both ends as to
    not see the train do a U-Turn

    Press C to copy the array to the clipboard
    then paste it into Train_Start.sqf

    thats all there is to it.

    if your working on a project and want to edit an array you have already made.
    just paste the array into the Array_Builder\ZKsArray.sqf
    in the Rail_Tracks = [];

    and it will add all the markers ready to edit.

    DownLoad the ZKs 3D Rail Track Finder

  2. #2
    Master Sergeant Phantom Six's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 28 2010
    Location
    California, United States
    Posts
    671
    I just tried it out and I got to say, brilliant work zonekiller . I can picture it right now... ARMA 2 BATTLE TRAIN!!

    I tried climbing in the cargo area of the train, unfortunately, if you stand in a structure that moves in ARMA you'll fall right out, but I mounted the KORD MG on the back and that works great
    Join CUP, the Commmunity Upgrade Project, or spread the word today. Help port over Arma 1/2 assets over to Arma 3 in high quality. http://forums.bistudio.com/showthrea...pgrade-Project
    Portfolio Site
    Join CiA Coop Nights

  3. #3
    Having tested this with ZK I'm really impressed!

    Just a quick question ZK ... how difficult is it to add to other trainlines on other maps?

  4. #4
    Gunnery Sergeant Zonekiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 20 2005
    Location
    Queensland ***"Australia"
    Posts
    492
    Author of the Thread
    the only array it needs is the track IDs "which you get from the editor" , out them in the tracks array and put the Land_loco_742_blue or Land_loco_742_Red near the track and off you go


    when it get to the end of the array "the last track" it will turn around and come back by reading the array backwards
    Last edited by Zonekiller; May 9 2012 at 23:24.

  5. #5
    Retired Moderator Foxhound's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 7 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    9,547
    Release frontpaged on the Armaholic homepage.

    Visit Armaholic.com | Visit Carriercommandaholic.com

    Public FTP available, just check the Armaholic.com FAQ.

    HMM........wonder what it is huh?

  6. #6
    Just amazes me some of the really cool stuff to come out of this game!

  7. #7
    Nice idea, it open up some possibilities especially if some one made an armoured train

    Quote Originally Posted by cleggy View Post
    ... hold on, what's that noise I hear? could it be the 'Mods Battle Wagon' fast approaching?

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Phantom Six View Post
    I just tried it out and I got to say, brilliant work zonekiller . I can picture it right now... ARMA 2 BATTLE TRAIN!!

    I tried climbing in the cargo area of the train, unfortunately, if you stand in a structure that moves in ARMA you'll fall right out, but I mounted the KORD MG on the back and that works great
    Oh that's a shame, i would have loved to do some Littlebird insertions on a moving train... Brilliant work though!

  9. #9
    This is excellent. Well done! Now the railway line that goes all along the Chernarus coast has real significance.

    ---------- Post added at 14:06 ---------- Previous post was at 14:05 ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by Zonekiller View Post
    the only array it needs is the track IDs "which you get from the editor" , out them in the tracks array and put the Land_loco_742_blue or Land_loco_742_Red near the track and off you go
    It's as simple as that? Well done sir!
    Documentation is not a dirty word.
    : TeamSPAFF : PRACS : RKSL : Stella Artois : Creme Eggs : XTRA :

    Making working streetside IEDs since 2011.

  10. #10

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Train Wagon and Supertank Addon
    By daman3 in forum ARMA 2 & OA - ADDONS & MODS: COMPLETE
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: Dec 17 2011, 20:03
  2. Working on first addon, few questions as I go
    By JDog in forum ARMA 2 & OA : MODELLING - (O2)
    Replies: 65
    Last Post: Nov 2 2010, 22:03
  3. Addon/ mod not working
    By zeroxox2 in forum ARMA 2 & OA - ADDONS & MODS: COMPLETE
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: Aug 24 2010, 01:11
  4. AEF-Campaign: Train Addon FINISHED
    By kavoven in forum ADDONS & MODS: COMPLETE
    Replies: 234
    Last Post: Jun 20 2009, 19:19
  5. What addon is BI working on?
    By Kev in forum ARMA - ADDONS & MODS: DISCUSSION
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: May 8 2007, 16:58

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •