Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

  Click here to go to the first Developer post in this thread.  

Thread: error creating direct3d 9 graphical engine arma 2

  1. #1

    error creating direct3d 9 graphical engine arma 2

    Windows 7 Home Premium
    64bit SP1
    Intel 2 Duo E8500
    4 Gigs memory
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 260

    I have been trying to play ARMAIIOA with a friend, but keep getting the following error.
    error creating direct3d 9 graphical engine
    It seems to be a rather common problem and after reading up on it I gather changing the string of the .exe file is the fix. Problem is I can't find a way to do that. I recall in XP I was able to edit the string of .exe files, but can't seem to do that with Win 7. I uninstalled ARMAIIOA and redownloaded it again via Steam, but the same thing happened. I then removed the mods I had installed and deleted the game again and downloaded it for a 3rd time. Still no joy. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Moderator [FRL]Myke's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 27 2007
    Location
    Yay, Rank 34 of 47119 and catching up.
    Posts
    6,570
    Do you have DX9 installed?

  3. #3

    Having same issue

    Windows 7 Home Premium
    64bit SP1
    Intel i7 2600 @3.4Ghz
    16Gb memory
    2x ATI Radeon HD6800 in Crossfire.
    DX11

    I'd like to attach DxDiag but don't know how to do it and putting the whole thing in quotes exceeds post maximum letter count.

    Did a recovery to last install of DirectX, which did not help.
    ArmaII vanilla works, but OA gives error. PMC and BAF gives same error.

    Funny thing is last night it worked fine as I started the SP Campaign.
    AFAIK the last update was 23 May.

    I've read re-installing OA does not help, so I am loathed to re-download the whole kit-and-kaboodle (steam purchase, Arma II Anniversary Ed).

    EDIT: Just ran Combined Ops from right-click context OA in my Steam Library. Weird. I suppose I could use this, but it's still annoying that I have all those shortcuts on my desktop that I can't use....
    Last edited by astrospud; May 27 2012 at 05:45.

  4. #4
    I have the same problem

    ATi Firepro v5800 graphics, with latest drivers
    DirectX 11

    I have installed the game, the expansion, the patch, and now I get the same error.
    I felt like pulling my hair out and punching my own face, during the whole process, and now this.

    ...seriously, they need to make this game more accessable to the general public. Awkward install, awkward player control and slow frame rate do not make for funtimes

  5. #5
    Moderator [FRL]Myke's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 27 2007
    Location
    Yay, Rank 34 of 47119 and catching up.
    Posts
    6,570
    ATi Firepro v5800 graphics, with latest drivers
    DirectX 11
    What about DirectX 9?

  6. #6
    I have manually installed directx 9.0c and tried other things like turning off hyperthreading, and removing all extra commands in the shortcut. still does the same thing....will try installing just directx 9.0 tommorrow, and see if it works.

  7. #7
    Moderator [FRL]Myke's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 27 2007
    Location
    Yay, Rank 34 of 47119 and catching up.
    Posts
    6,570
    @Oslomadon

    do you run the game as Administrator?

  8. #8
    so im sry to post his here, but ive been just trying to get arma 2 updated for FOUR WEEKS and at every turn i just run into problem after problem, and apperently you cant make your own forum post even after going through several other steps of nonsense ive never had to suffer through on any other forum ive ever been to including secure systems.

    Now i find out i need dx9 (and some specific version of it), and ive tried to dl this 6 times, gotten 2 virus's and still have no clue where to find a real company that still uploads this. Ive sifted through page after page here and find bad info, conflicting info, or virus's.

    can someone help me to find this? pretty please with a little red blasted cherry on top?


    words can not describe my frustration at this unprofessionalism of product update/support. please help me with this one issue, and you'll never see or hear from me again.

  9. #9
    Moderator [FRL]Myke's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 27 2007
    Location
    Yay, Rank 34 of 47119 and catching up.
    Posts
    6,570
    words can not describe my frustration at this unprofessionalism of product update/support.
    The game requires DirectX 9 which is a product of Microsoft. Usually people would try to get it from there.

    How this could be related with the product support of ArmA 2 isn't quite clear to me.

  10.   Click here to go to the next Developer post in this thread.   #10
    Über Verwalter Placebo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 23 2001
    Location
    Visby, Gotland, Sweden
    Posts
    21,304
    Quote Originally Posted by Obliteratii View Post
    words can not describe my frustration at this unprofessionalism of product update/support.

    Under which email address did you open a ticket on our support system?
    Please do not PM or Email me directly about your CD Key issues, follow the guidance in this thread instead.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. error creating direct3d 9 graphical engine
    By MajorNME in forum ARMA 2 & OA - TROUBLESHOOTING
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: Jan 24 2012, 11:20
  2. Arma 2 Demo - Error creating direct3D graphical engine
    By Vasov in forum ARMA 2 & OA - TROUBLESHOOTING
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Oct 9 2010, 19:58
  3. Error creating Direct3D 9 Graphical Engine
    By Mandalorian in forum ARMA 2 & OA - TROUBLESHOOTING
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: Jul 19 2009, 02:51
  4. Error creating Direct3D 9 Graphical Engine
    By CENKCNK in forum ARMA 2 & OA - TROUBLESHOOTING
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: Jul 2 2009, 02:55
  5. Error creating Direct3D 9 Graphical engine
    By BrainCluster in forum ARMA - TROUBLESHOOTING
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Oct 27 2008, 18:50

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •