Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Laggy model ingame

  1. #11
    First Sergeant Aplion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 28 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    919
    Author of the Thread
    ok just one thing ... when I reported about sections number I was looking the number at th bottom left of the O2 and was saying 20 ... now I've opened the sections in "Window>Resource Library" and ... my sections are 14 now !!

    Furthermore that seems not to change my issue.

    @ Synide ... let me read closer your explanations - suggestions and I'll come back to you.

    ---------- Post added at 15:12 ---------- Previous post was at 14:24 ----------

    ok let me give the last status ...

    points : 9471
    faces : 13547
    sections : 12

    Regarding glass ... yes I have glasses but I haven't yet any texture applied except just the #(argb,8,8,3)color(0.0,0.0,0.0,0.12,co) in lod 0 texture area. So I'm assuming that they are treated by the game engine as normal polygons without any problems.

    One more thing that I must make clear is that so far I've only a basic texture for each section without any rvmat .... is there any case that causing the problem ?

    Still my issue remain ...
    Last edited by Aplion; Mar 29 2012 at 16:16.

  2. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by Aplion View Post
    Furthermore that seems not to change my issue.
    Oh sure... it might be something else related to your model. That's the thing about modding A2/OA. There are alot of moving parts. Sometimes a problem is just the result of 1 issue, sometimes it's a combination of a lot of issues. As such, a common methodology is to work through a process of elimination. You slap & tickle a bit until it falls within BIS observed norms, then you move onto another bit and massage that. The only reason sections were mentioned was 'cause usually that's a good starting point with optimizing a model.
    If you go through the process of reducing your section count then at least you can feel confident that this area should in theory not be contributing to poor performance.
    Hibernating (indefinitely/permanently/intermittently)... may respond to , possibly.

  3. #13
    First Sergeant Aplion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 28 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    919
    Author of the Thread
    Synide ... right now I can't go lower than the 12 sections and I think that this is a fair number.

    Regarding moving parts as I said my model has openable doors exactly as it was at HWM vehicles back to ArmA 1 (if you can recall) ... also I must say that I have imported these HWM vehicles to ArmA 2 and especially one of them (the GD240) has 40 sections and still is working like a charm without issues.

    But I must agree with you that the only way to find the problem is through elimination process and I'm already working to this direction.

  4. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by Aplion View Post
    There is no problem when I'm either in gunner or driver positions ... just when I'm looking it after been unmounted.
    Ok, so we're starting to get confident that's the sections are looking cool (probably) it's good you looked at them even if it ends up not being the culprit.

    Tell us, when you are in the gunner or driver position are you in 1st person or 3rd person? And, what are you doing next? Are you just doing a 'Get Out' then looking back at your vehicle? Again, are you in 1st or 3rd person when doing this?
    What build of the game are you using?

    Are there any leads to problems in your build.log file?

  5. #15
    First Sergeant Aplion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 28 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    919
    Author of the Thread
    Either as driver or gunner I'm in 1st person and when I'm getting out and looking at the vehicle then I have lag (only when I'm looking the vehicle).
    As long as I'm in driver or gunner position without getting out there is no problem ... also at both positions when I'm using 3rd person view there is no problem ... just when I'm getting out and looking the vehicle either in 1st or 3rd person view.

    There also several error reports into my build.log file but I'm not sure that these are significant as basicaly conserning some ST for points (I'll have a more detailed look on that).

    ---------- Post added at 16:51 ---------- Previous post was at 15:49 ----------

    Well I've been tried erasing one by one all lods except lod 0 (also I made just a cube as all geometry lods just in case) ... no change.

    I've checked model build.log file and among others I found these ...

    Warning: CfgVehicles missing in PreloadConfig - may slow down vehicle creation
    Warning: CfgAmmo missing in PreloadConfig - may slow down vehicle creation
    Warning: CfgNonAIVehicles missing in PreloadConfig - may slow down vehicle creation


    ... to be honest I don't know how to fix these errors or if these errors have something to do with my lag issue ... any thoughts - help on that will be much appreciated.

  6. #16
    That's nothing, it has nothing to do with your problem AFAIK.


    My inbox is fill and won't be emptied. If your PM is regarding requests to use my work, unfortunately I choose not to grant such permission. My work is for use with CWR2 only.

  7. #17
    First Sergeant Aplion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 28 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    919
    Author of the Thread
    Quote Originally Posted by Max Power View Post
    That's nothing, it has nothing to do with your problem AFAIK.
    Yes I thought so ... thanks for help Max ..

  8. #18
    Quote Originally Posted by Aplion View Post
    Well I've been tried erasing one by one all lods except lod 0 (also I made just a cube as all geometry lods just in case) ... no change.
    Can you send me the .pbo that is being loaded in-game or post it here so other's too could look at it too... many eyes make lighter/quicker resolution. synide at rocketmail dot com or if your on skype... also, what version of the game.exe are you using?

  9. #19
    First Sergeant Aplion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 28 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    919
    Author of the Thread
    Synide I'm not sure that I understood what you ask me to do ... the .pbo file is binarized so the only think anyone can see is just the lag problem ingame.

    ---------- Post added at 09:19 ---------- Previous post was at 08:15 ----------

    I think I found the problem !! a wrong path of a material in damage class of my config seems that was responsible for that lag !! after I correct the path the lag problem d╬╣sappeared !!

    Thank you all for the help and please excuse me for wasted your time.

  10. #20
    That's cool... I didn't do anything dude. It was all you. Btw, the reason I wanted the .pbo was to see if I too got the 'lag'... and I did. Was about 50%. s'good you got it sorted.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Need help getting a head/or glasses model ingame.
    By {Op4}Martijn in forum ARMA 2 & OA : MODELLING - (O2)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: Nov 6 2010, 02:55
  2. Model Problem Ingame
    By Nixo in forum ARMA 2 & OA : MODELLING - (O2)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: Jan 27 2010, 16:37
  3. Laggy Laggy What a Hell of a Way to Play
    By Kristian in forum OFFTOPIC
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Oct 24 2009, 02:21
  4. From model to ingame
    By MrMisty in forum ARMA 2 & OA : MODELLING - (O2)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Jul 17 2009, 15:22
  5. Change player model ingame
    By DarkSchakal in forum OFP : MISSION EDITING & SCRIPTING
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: Mar 31 2004, 19:31

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •