Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: COOP Locally Hosted Warfare/CTI [Comp Stomp]

  1. #1

    Cool COOP Locally Hosted Warfare/CTI [Comp Stomp]

    I'm looking for a good coop (friends vs AI) warfare or CTI mission. I host locally on my computer without a dedicated server. Need a good warfare/CTI mission where the AI is competent and use things at their disposal. The standard BIS Warfare is definitely designed for PvP and it shows.

    I tried Benny Edition a few months ago and the AI was pretty bugged. They didn't buy any vehicles or weapons. A few even kept spawning in a corner of the map. I'm certain it requires a dedicated server.
    Phenom II X4 955 45 nm OC 3.6 GHz
    GeForce GTX 570 Classified
    12 GB Dual-Channel DDR3
    M4 Solid State Drive

  2. #2
    Moderator [FRL]Myke's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 27 2007
    Location
    Yay, Rank 34 of 47119 and catching up.
    Posts
    6,198
    With a Quadcore CPU you surely can start a dedicated server on your local machine, i'm doing this all the time. As a sideeffect you get by far better (local) client performance compared to hosted. You should try it, it's really worth.
    99 little bugs in my code
    99 little bugs in my code
    take one down, patch it around
    127 little bugs in my code

  3. #3
    Cheek out Angry insects/PromanCTI missions. They say they need a dedicated server, but I have played them fine hosting as client.
    Vote for these Bugs
    Spoiler:

    PC Spec:
    Spoiler:

  4. #4
    Sergeant Major JuggernautOfWar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 25 2007
    Location
    Corvallis, Oregon
    Posts
    1,513
    Author of the Thread
    Quote Originally Posted by [FRL]Myke View Post
    With a Quadcore CPU you surely can start a dedicated server on your local machine, i'm doing this all the time. As a sideeffect you get by far better (local) client performance compared to hosted. You should try it, it's really worth.
    Is it a fairly easy thing to set up? I've got a Phenom II running at 3.4 GHz - should be fine. If I can get better performance that'd be great. I play with a few mods and the beta patch, don't know if that'd change anything.

    Quote Originally Posted by -=seany=- View Post
    Cheek out Angry insects/PromanCTI missions. They say they need a dedicated server, but I have played them fine hosting as client.
    Thank you for the suggestion. I can't find the lite version mentioned in the readme free from the required mods.
    Last edited by JuggernautOfWar; Mar 13 2012 at 05:44.

  5. #5
    Moderator [FRL]Myke's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 27 2007
    Location
    Yay, Rank 34 of 47119 and catching up.
    Posts
    6,198
    I recommend Tophe's A2 Dedicated Server Tool. There, setting up a local server is a matter of a few checkboxes and a few seconds. It supports beta patches aswell as Mods which can be selected by simply clicking a checkbox.
    Also i do run on a Phenom II 3.4GHz and on Takistan i easily have 50+ FPS, mostly hitting 80-90FPS.

    You should just know server commands like #login and #missions. If you don't have set any mission rotation (guessing you would like to select from all avaliable missions), when you connect you will just see a black screen. Log in as admin and issue the #missions command and you're good to go.

  6. #6
    Sergeant Major JuggernautOfWar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 25 2007
    Location
    Corvallis, Oregon
    Posts
    1,513
    Author of the Thread
    Thank you very much for the information Myke! This helps tremendously. I'll report back with my findings once I've played with it for a while.
    Last edited by JuggernautOfWar; Mar 13 2012 at 06:52.

  7. #7
    Moderator [FRL]Myke's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 27 2007
    Location
    Yay, Rank 34 of 47119 and catching up.
    Posts
    6,198
    Quote Originally Posted by JuggernautOfWar View Post
    Thank you very much for the information Myke! This helps tremendously. Using this tool how do I create a server in CO instead of OA?
    By selecting the correct .exe file? C'mon, how about downloading it and just try?

    The path might differ but this starts a CO server on my PC:
    Code:
    C:\Program Files\Bohemia Interactive\ArmA 2\Expansion\beta\arma2oaserver.exe
    This goes in the "Server file" field. I recommend to use the "Browse" button to find the correct file. OFC if you're not using beta patches, remove the "Expansion\beta" part.

  8. #8
    Sergeant Major JuggernautOfWar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 25 2007
    Location
    Corvallis, Oregon
    Posts
    1,513
    Author of the Thread
    Ha you got me. I edited my post right as you posted. Yeah I got it by using the base ArmA 2 directory.

    So far so good, haven't noticed any performance decrease at least. Great now I can try out Benny Edition again and hopefully it'll work. Thank you again Myke!

  9. #9
    Moderator [FRL]Myke's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 27 2007
    Location
    Yay, Rank 34 of 47119 and catching up.
    Posts
    6,198
    Keep an eye on your CPU temps as now your CPU will run most of the time at full load.

Similar Threads

  1. locally hosted mission and script behaves odd when on DS
    By Tankbuster in forum ARMA 2 & OA : MISSIONS - Editing & Scripting
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: Nov 5 2011, 00:05
  2. Best LAN COOP cti/warfare
    By Wegetzu in forum ARMA 2 & OA - USER MISSIONS
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Jun 25 2011, 08:19
  3. "Connecting Failed" on locally hosted Dedi?
    By the_antipop in forum ARMA 2 & OA - TROUBLESHOOTING
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Sep 1 2010, 01:41
  4. About Warfare and CTI
    By Fleshpound in forum ARMA 2 & OA - MULTIPLAYER
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Jun 11 2009, 10:53
  5. Warfare 2 / CTI
    By Futurenote in forum ARMA 2 & OA : MISSIONS - Editing & Scripting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: Jun 11 2009, 00:56

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •