Sign in to follow this  
Slapstick

Wresting with SQF syntax

I am trying to learn SQF, but as a C++/Java programmer I carry a lot of baggage and preconcieved notions and some things I see just don't make any sense.

First off, I've come across the following more than once:

0 = [] execVM "someScript.sqf";

So, WTF is up with assigning the value returned by the "someScript.sqf" script to a literal constant?

Second, I'm reading the wiki documentation for the BIS_fnc_wpSlingLoadAttach function, which says that it takes three parameters: posLimit, failCode, and weight. But the example provided uses six parameters...

[player, dude, 50, 10, {hintC "You lost the cargo!"}, 1000] spawn BIS_fnc_wpSlingLoadAttach;

Why is the example passing more parameters than the function accepts? What are "player", "dude", and "50"?

Just when I think I've figured out the wonky SQF syntax I come across things like the above which make me think I'm missing something.

The reason you see the assignment to '0' is because the editor is a bit weird. In many of the editor fields such as, initialization fields, condition field of triggers and other places you cannot have expressions that have a result. Using the command 'execVM' returns a handle - that is, some value. This is not permitted. However, there is no result in an assignment expression so by performing an assignment the result of the expression changes from a script handle to nothing which is allowed. This restriction does not exist outside the editor. 0 is often chosen since then you don't create a variable in the global scope. Some uses 'nul' instead and others something else.

Regarding your second question, maybe the function has undocumented optional variables. You can create functions which take optional values like this:

takesOptional = {
  _required = _this select 0;
  _optional = if (count _this > 1) then {_this select 1} else {"Default value"};
};

EDIT: