Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst 12345678 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 89

Thread: Blake's AI Forward Observer

  1. #31
    Staff Sergeant blakeace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 21 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    353
    Author of the Thread
    Quote Originally Posted by Basstoass View Post
    Maybe you could insert a Demo Mission in your next release? Its much easier for me to have an working example than a written instruction to see how it works. Thanks
    I'll try and remember too

  2. #32
    Hi Blake,
    Finally had a chance to test the new version.

    Unfortunately I am having a slight problem with the Sync of placed artillery units (as opposed to Module-Generated Ones).

    Whenever I place a group of Artillery Units and sync them to the "Blake's AI FO Mortar" module I observer the following:
    1. The module remains the default 81mm Mortar and does not seem to change into the same type as the placed units. What is the expected behaviour?
    2. The unit manning the mortar does however, become the same type as the unit manning the placed artillery. I used some OA US army Arty and an A2 USMC FO - unit manning the Mortar was an OA US Army rifleman (obtained from the arty units, not from the FO - although this could be the order which I did the syncing).
    3. The "module-default-created-Mortar" will fire on an FO's instructions, but not the placed artillery units. Testing is a little tricky as finding an acceptable range for the mixed Arty group is difficult (although I strongly suspect it shouldn't be a mixed group - See observation 1.) I know all placed Arty units must be of the same type - as per your instructions.

    I also had problems getting the num_of_missions called function to return a value other than <null>. I was testing this using the module's auto generated mortars and not placed arty units? Will the function to return the number of missions called by an FO unit work on auto-generated artillery units? I was not sure, which is what led me to try some tests with placed artillery (with the intention to test the num_of_missions called function, but can't seem to get them to fire at all!)

    Questions before I have another go at another:
    1. Do placed Arty Units need to be Sync'ed to the basic BIS ARTILLERY Module as well as yours to get them to fire? I have added Ammunition to the placed units.
    2. Once sync'ed, should there still be a solitary mortar + unit at the location of your AI FO Module? e.g. Syncing 3 M119s to the module results with 3 M119s and an additional 81mm mortar - is this as expected? If this is true, should I "this setVariable [ "Size_Group", 0, false];" on the AI-FO Module to remove the default mortar to leave me with just the placed M119 units?
    3. Can I use the function to find how many missions and FO has called for both Auto generated artillery and Placed Artillery units?
    4. Cheeky as I am, I had other mods running at the time (P85, Sounds and some islands), so I will try again tonight with just vanilla and the AI-FO mod to see if this is the cause of conflicts for syncing placed units.

    Anyway, using Auto-generated Artillery pieces with Size_Group and Types defined using setVariable in the init line still works a treat.
    HAving a great time with this mod. Prior to this, all of my Editor set-piece battles were a little shallow as I either had to forgo AI artillery altogether or script random strikes based on arbitrary conditions (time, map markers etc). This is much, much better. Suddenly, battles have the extra dimension that was sorely missed.

    Thanks again and hoping you can give me a few tips.

  3. #33
    Staff Sergeant blakeace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 21 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    353
    Author of the Thread
    Updated version 1.2 available in the first post.

    Version 1.2
    • Fixed Displaying of the artillery ranges broken in 1.1
    • Added sample missions



    Quote Originally Posted by BillyCrookFoot View Post
    Whenever I place a group of Artillery Units and sync them to the "Blake's AI FO Mortar" module I observer the following:
    1. The module remains the default 81mm Mortar and does not seem to change into the same type as the placed units. What is the expected behaviour?
    If the module has any valid artillery objects synced to it, it won't create it's own mortar units. Validity is performed by checking whether the unit has an artilleryScanner in it's config. That is the best way I have found to check for valid units so far. Are the arty objects valid one's which will work using the default artillery modules coding which this addon draws upon? There isn't two instances of the module one over the other where making the syncs look valid, but half are going to one, and the other half to the second?
    I have done some tests to try and replicate in some way your results and am unable to do so.

    Quote Originally Posted by BillyCrookFoot View Post
    2. The unit manning the mortar does however, become the same type as the unit manning the placed artillery. I used some OA US army Arty and an A2 USMC FO - unit manning the Mortar was an OA US Army rifleman (obtained from the arty units, not from the FO - although this could be the order which I did the syncing).
    Syncing order doens't matter other than for the first FO if spawning units via the module, and for which FO you want as the reference to the debug range display readout.

    Quote Originally Posted by BillyCrookFoot View Post
    3. The "module-default-created-Mortar" will fire on an FO's instructions, but not the placed artillery units. Testing is a little tricky as finding an acceptable range for the mixed Arty group is difficult (although I strongly suspect it shouldn't be a mixed group - See observation 1.) I know all placed Arty units must be of the same type - as per your instructions.
    Check whether the units are valid artillery units, else they are just considered FO's by the module.

    Quote Originally Posted by BillyCrookFoot View Post
    I also had problems getting the num_of_missions called function to return a value other than <null>. I was testing this using the module's auto generated mortars and not placed arty units? Will the function to return the number of missions called by an FO unit work on auto-generated artillery units? I was not sure, which is what led me to try some tests with placed artillery (with the intention to test the num_of_missions called function, but can't seem to get them to fire at all!)
    They start as null until they get defined in the module. This process takes a short while to complete. The new version I just uploaded includes some sample code using the counter in the sadarm mission. Nothing special it just displays the total number of missions called.

    Quote Originally Posted by BillyCrookFoot View Post
    1. Do placed Arty Units need to be Sync'ed to the basic BIS ARTILLERY Module as well as yours to get them to fire? I have added Ammunition to the placed units.
    No, only one unit from the group needs to be synced to the aiFO module.

    Quote Originally Posted by BillyCrookFoot View Post
    2. Once sync'ed, should there still be a solitary mortar + unit at the location of your AI FO Module? e.g. Syncing 3 M119s to the module results with 3 M119s and an additional 81mm mortar - is this as expected? If this is true, should I "this setVariable [ "Size_Group", 0, false];" on the AI-FO Module to remove the default mortar to leave me with just the placed M119 units?
    No if a valid editor placed object is synced to the module, then no mortars will be created. If a mortar is being created the other units are not considered valid artillery units for some reason.

    Quote Originally Posted by BillyCrookFoot View Post
    3. Can I use the function to find how many missions and FO has called for both Auto generated artillery and Placed Artillery units?
    Yes, there is a counter created for each seperate FO. they are object variables use the name of the object you want to check to see that units amount.
    Quote Originally Posted by BillyCrookFoot View Post
    4. Cheeky as I am, I had other mods running at the time (P85, Sounds and some islands), so I will try again tonight with just vanilla and the AI-FO mod to see if this is the cause of conflicts for syncing placed units.
    Unless the mods actually change the artillery objects configs, it would be doubtful they would conflict. That said it is always easier to ensure you have found the right cause by eliminating any other noise

    I'm sorry but I haven't been able replicate your issues, I hope the answers above will help in some way. Try the new versions sample missions and see what results you get there. These use editor placed units.
    Hope this helps Blake.
    Last edited by blakeace; Feb 3 2012 at 02:11.

  4. #34
    Sergeant Major OldBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 3 2006
    Location
    Marseille, France
    Posts
    1,789
    New on front page at Armed Assault.info

    Link to updated mirror :

    Blakes AI Forward Observer (v 1.2) : http://www.armedassault.info/index.p...addons&id=1835

  5. #35
    Retired Moderator Foxhound's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 6 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    8,143
    Thanks for always taking the time to inform us about your updates, it is very much appreciated


    Release frontpaged on the Armaholic homepage.


  6. #36
    Master Gunnery Sergeant Munger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 3 2001
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    1,134
    Great addon blakeace, thank you.

    Just to clarify; what types of arty round does this support? I ask because some of the BIS default rounds (SADARM, WP) don't actually work properly in my experience, or at least not when manually firing the arty using the Fire Control Computer. SADARM just results in a puff of dirt like a bullet striking the ground, and WP shows white smoke but doesn't cause any damage to troops.
    The British Army will never yield!

  7. #37
    Staff Sergeant blakeace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 21 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    353
    Author of the Thread
    Quote Originally Posted by Munger View Post
    Great addon blakeace, thank you.

    Just to clarify; what types of arty round does this support? I ask because some of the BIS default rounds (SADARM, WP) don't actually work properly in my experience, or at least not when manually firing the arty using the Fire Control Computer. SADARM just results in a puff of dirt like a bullet striking the ground, and WP shows white smoke but doesn't cause any damage to troops.
    I'm glad you like it.
    The ai will use under the right circumstance.
    • SADARM - In my testing this did make a mess of the enemy armours paintwork much of the time. Very effective actually. The effectiveness of these rounds depends on how accurate the fire mission is. The submunition is actually quite small, so if it misses, it only creates a small impact. If the initial charge goes off to far away from the vehicles below the submunitions won't be able to sense the vehicles. Try running my sample mission a few times. Sometimes they decimate the armoured group, other times they aren't accurate enough with leading the targets and the group gets away. I've also seen a few near misses as well. Generally I find if they hit one, it forces the others to stop which makes future fire missions easier against static targets. Which is what occurred when I created the video. All shots in that video were from only one run of the mission.
    • WP - Used more for screening a planned assault on an position. Not sure if it does any damage. Requires certain waypoint conditions for the FO's group for it to be used.
    • Smoke - As above.
    • ILLUM - May use at night if the FO doesn't have NVG's.
    • HE - Default round type used for most occassions.

    The artillery needs to have these magazine types added to them for the special rounds to be used. The artillery module doesn't seem to track how many rounds the guns use, so they by default have unlimited numbers if that magazine is added.
    Still thinking of the "nicest" solution to the unlimited numbers.
    The spawned mortars if used get ILLUM,HE only by default.

  8. #38
    Sergeant Major Rydygier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 22 2011
    Location
    Poland, Pomerania
    Posts
    1,769
    WP - Used more for screening a planned assault on an position. Not sure if it does any damage.
    In my tests WP ARTY ammo was highly effective against infantry.

  9. #39
    Master Gunnery Sergeant Munger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 3 2001
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    1,134
    Thanks guys for the replies. Hmm, wonder what I'm doing wrong. Perhaps those rounds work with scripted arty but not via the manual Fire Control Computer.

    Cheers.

  10. #40
    Sergeant Major Rydygier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 22 2011
    Location
    Poland, Pomerania
    Posts
    1,769
    Quote Originally Posted by Munger View Post
    Perhaps those rounds work with scripted arty but not via the manual Fire Control Computer.

    Cheers.
    Was wondering, if this is true, so did some test:

    One M119 named "a1" with me as leader, synchronized with ARTY module, and this init:

    {a1 removemagazine _x} foreach (magazines a1);a1 addMagazine "ARTY_30Rnd_105mmWP_M119";

    also one infantry group in range as target and some playable/switchable observer behind them.

    Fired some shells and switched to observer unit. Well... There was lots of white smoke and all infanty in range died. I saw ARTY ammo configs an it looks, like HE ammo has higher hit/indirect hit value, but WP has wider (50 meters for howitzer (?)) blast radius.

    Also, about SADARM, I know, that if just to spawn such shell in air above target, it will do nothing except falling as a stone, but works great when fired as ARTY ammo from gun. Probably must by ARTY module synchronized with such gun, because script, that gives SADARM ammo its specific behavior is located in this module (there is created "rocketcore" class submunition (two of them ?)) above target with separate classname).

Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst 12345678 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •