Sign in to follow this  
froggyluv

Idiot Guide to Server.Cfg (help)

Hi, I'm totally new to this aspect of MP but would like to understand how to operate this thing -if even just to set up a wise-ass welcome message :D

So my Arm2oaserver shortcut reads:

"C:\Program Files\Bohemia Interactive\ArmA 2\arma2oaserver.exe" -config=server.cfg -MOD=@cba;@ace;@acex;@smk;@sthud.........

and in my Arma2 Folder I copied pasted the example config from Biki and named the text file server.cfg

//

// server.cfg

//

// comments are written with "//" in front of them.

// GLOBAL SETTINGS

hostname = "Fun and Test Server"; // The name of the server that shall be displayed in the public server list

password = ""; // Password for joining, eg connecting to the server

passwordAdmin = "xyz"; // Password to become server admin. When you're in Arma MP and connected to the server, type '#login xyz'

reportingIP = "armedass.master.gamespy.com"; // This is the default setting. If you change this, your server

//reportingIP = arma2pc.master.gamespy.com"; // In case of ArmA2 might not turn up in the public list. Leave empty for private servers

//reportingIP = "arma2oapc.master.gamespy.com"; // For Operation Arrowhead

logFile = "server_console.log"; // Tells ArmA-server where the logfile should go and what it should be called

// WELCOME MESSAGE ("message of the day")

// It can be several lines, separated by comma

// Empty messages "" will not be displayed at all but are only for increasing the interval

motd[] = {

"", "", "",

"Welcome to the Testing",

"Server Settings: Veteran, Crosshair = off, 3rdPerson = off, MapInfo = off, VoN = off, CustomFiles = 200KByte, Voting = 33%, PersistentMaps = on",

"We are looking for fun - Join us Now !",

"http://www.mypage.org/",

"",

"You should use mumble, its better than",

"TS2 Server for recruits: mypage.org:8767"

};

motdInterval = 5; // Time interval (in seconds) between each message

// JOINING RULES

checkfiles[] = {}; // Outdated.