Sign in to follow this  
zodd

Support by fire/Attack by fire, target acquisition and engagement ranges

Gday all

I am currently trying to make a Platoon attack mission on an enemy location with 3 objectives (approximately 150m apart). That part is easy but I am trying to tie in artillery/mortar support as well as direct fire support from a Support by fire (SBF) location

I am not very experienced at editing missions and have only a base understanding of scripting, however i have managed to do the attack fairly easily and used triggered fire missions for arty and mortars (Using when BLUEFOR present triggers to layer fire for effect missions - initially on objective one, then as the assault gets close it switches to the second objective etc.)

Goal

Pre assault - Snipers acquire targets but do not fire - Just as the first artillery rounds land on OBJ 1, the snipers and 50 cal (both in SBF) are clear to engage (Currently trigger for them to engage is when artillery fires - not ideal but i can live with it)

Assault then steps off and artillery shifts to depth positions and mortars start firing on the first objective. As the assault progresses the indirect fire support (Arty and MOR) shifts fire to depth objectives then cutoff positions (All done using bluefor present triggers)

Problems I am having

Arty/MOR - Is there any way to keep them firing at a sustained rate until triggered to stop instead of just firing a fire mission for a certain number of rounds? Also is there any way to check fire (in case a fire mission is still going but friendly troops get too close to the target?)

Currently using when bluefor present trigger to fire the following;

[m1, 150] call BIS_ARTY_F_SetDispersion; [group m1, getPosASL a1, ["IMMEDIATE", "HE", 10, 9]] call BIS_ARTY_F_ExecuteTemplateMission;

where m1 is the lead mortar in a group of 3 (synched to arty module) and a1 is a game logic location to fire on.

DFSW/Snipers in SBF