PDA

View Full Version : Found Bug : ATi Radeon 9600 256mb (Saphire)



Dark[TM]
Jul 27 2004, 04:26
CATALYST Windows XP 4.7 Drivers makes Operation Flashpoint crash to Desktop.

Works well whit the 4.6.

Placebo
Jul 27 2004, 07:40
What are the rest of your system specs? I've used XP + 4.6's and it worked ok http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/smile_o.gif

Dark[TM]
Jul 27 2004, 17:01
AMD Athlon 2000XP+.
1024mb of PC2700 DDR/333mhz Kingston Ram.
ATi Radeon 9600 256mb whit Cataclyt's 4.5 drivers.
Windows XP Profesionnal.
Operation Flashpoint GOTY 1.96.
1150x864x32, Visual Quality = 11.96, Terrain detail to High.
Direct X 9.0B

Note : my 9600 is not Pro or XT.

Gordy
Jul 27 2004, 17:38
Try using Omega drivers. They are often improved drivers compering to the original. They have several fixes included and cool soft with it. The guy who makes them is also very helpfull in case of emergency. He got a best modded drivers award from ATI.

Killswitch
Jul 27 2004, 17:43
I have a 256 MB 9600 (Non-XT, Non-Pro) just like you. Using the 4.7 Cat's without problems in OFP.

(Athlon XP1900+, 1 GB RAM, XP Pro SP1. BIOS: AGP set to 4x, Fast Writes off, AGP Aperture 64 MB)

I see you are using High terrain detail. I can assure you that a measly XP2000+ and low-level 9600's like ours are not up to the task of that. I mostly play using "Very low" terrain detail.

Try lowering that and see if it improves stability. If you can't even start OFP in order to change that, you have to edit the file where the terrain detail setting is. This is the file UserInfo.cfg in the folder ...\OperationFlashpoint\Users\Dark[TM]

Open that file (ie ...\OperationFlashpoint\Users\Dark[TM]\UserInfo.cfg) using a text editor (like Notepad, the editor that comes with windows) and find the line that reads
<table border="0" align="center" width="95%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tr><td>Code Sample </td></tr><tr><td id="CODE">terrainGrid=6.250000;[/QUOTE]
then change that into
<table border="0" align="center" width="95%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tr><td>Code Sample </td></tr><tr><td id="CODE">terrainGrid=50.000000;[/QUOTE]
and save it.

Hope it helps&#33;

shinRaiden
Jul 27 2004, 17:46
What model motherboard are you using?
Are you using an nForce2 board?

Dark[TM]
Jul 27 2004, 19:00
ASUS A7V333

Dark[TM]
Jul 27 2004, 19:05
Here are my OFP Settings and it still crash. ( I was playing a MFCTI Everon COOP.)

http://img60.exs.cx/img60/7479/GCS0003.jpg

I don&#39;t have any addons exept MFCTI in OFP/addons.

Didin&#39;t have any problems whit my ATi Radeon 8500LE 128mb. http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/rock.gif

Dark[TM]
Jul 27 2004, 19:18
some Screenshots of my DXDIAG. (Sorry if It&#39;s french.)

http://img63.exs.cx/img63/4082/GCS0001.jpg
http://img63.exs.cx/img63/9697/GCS0002.jpg
http://img63.exs.cx/img63/7479/GCS0003.jpg

Note : I sent 3 files to BIS support about 4-5 days ago.
-Flashpoint.rpt
-Dxdiag.txt
-Config

turms
Jul 27 2004, 19:33
Try lowering the resolution?

Dark[TM]
Jul 27 2004, 19:51
meh, I was playing the same resolution on my 8500. :/

Dark[TM]
Jul 27 2004, 22:41
I tryed the Omega drivers and it still dosen&#39;t work. http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/sad_o.gif

Help &#33; http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/sad_o.gif

Heatseeker
Jul 28 2004, 00:13
Isnt "nomap-" suposed to help people with newer graphic cards or something http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/rock.gif .

Dark[TM]
Jul 28 2004, 00:47
-nomap is for addons...

Dark[TM]
Jul 28 2004, 00:56
*pray&#39;s so that BIS see&#39;s this Topic*.

Dark[TM]
Jul 28 2004, 04:42
Tryed Using 1024x768x32x85mhz.

Still got a Crash. http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/sad_o.gif

theavonlady
Jul 28 2004, 04:50
1. Is your monitor set at a 75hz refresh rate in Windows as well?

2. Backup and then delete the following 2 files:

&#92;OFP&#92;Flashpoint.cfg
&#92;OFP&#92;Users&#92;yourPlayerName&#92;Userinfo.cfg

Run the OFPR Preferences Program. Click on AUTODETECT. Then click on START.

Any better? http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/rock.gif

Dark[TM]
Jul 28 2004, 05:09
1 - Yes.

2 - Done.

3 - No. (lol...)

-My Videocard is not compatible ? (Hope no... costed me 167&#036;+tx)
-OFP is causing the crash ?
-Driver problem ? (Tryed Cataclyt&#39;s 4.6,4.7,Omega 4.7.)

Think I&#39;m gonna test in other Games...

Also, when I need to install a Patch. OFP/RES/ADDONS O.pbo is always corrupt... so before I unistall OFP, I need to make a backup of it and send it in his folder before patching my fresh install. Can this be the problem ?

I think that I&#39;m the most lucky guy hehe.

theavonlady
Jul 28 2004, 05:40
@<hidden> July 27 2004,22:00)]ASUS A7V333
From the A7V333 product page (http://www.asus.com/prog/spec.asp?m=A7V333&langs=01):

Chipset North Bridge: VIA®: KT333
South Bridge: VIA®: VT8233A

Now search The FAQ (http://www.theavonlady.org/theofpfaq/) for "via". That&#39;s the chipset&#39;s manufacturer.

You&#39;ll most likely need to upgrade your BIOS and/or VIA chipset drivers.

Dark[TM]
Jul 28 2004, 06:09
Ok, I will test OFP tommorow ... (2:08am in Québec. http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/tounge_o.gif )

Thanks for the Help &#33;

Dark[TM]
Jul 28 2004, 17:07
I&#39;l reply whit some Smilies...

http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/sad_o.gif http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/mad_o.gif

Dark[TM]
Jul 28 2004, 17:09
Why was my old Videocard working soooooo well and my 9600 is all """""" up ?

Dark[TM]
Jul 28 2004, 17:22
Does it helps if I say that my card is DH&TV ?

Dark[TM]
Jul 28 2004, 19:10
Nevermind. It&#39;s my Bloody Videocard.

All of my Games crash now. http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/crazy_o.gif

theavonlady
Jul 28 2004, 19:15
@<hidden> July 28 2004,22:10)]Nevermind. It&#39;s my Bloody Videocard.

All of my Games crash now.  http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/crazy_o.gif
Doesn&#39;t that make you feel better? http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/tounge_o.gif http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/biggrin_o.gif http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/smile_o.gif http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/wink_o.gif http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/rock.gif http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/crazy_o.gif http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/sad_o.gif

RKSL-Rock
Jul 28 2004, 19:23
I had this with a Sapphire Atlantis Radeon 9600 using the Cat 4.7 driver.

It ran ok in OFP until you loaded larger mods/addon collections it fell over, either CTD or Green screen error. Even with 1.96 and -nomap. I came to the conclusion that the card is just crap http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/sad_o.gif

Sorry not very helpful but at least it does confirm your diagnosis of your card being duff.

Dark[TM]
Jul 28 2004, 20:38
I had this with a Sapphire Atlantis Radeon 9600 using the Cat 4.7 driver.
Did you try whit other Drivers ?

Geez I&#39;m sooooo happy now. I just wasted 167&#036; of my Hard-Earned bucks. -_-

RKSL-Rock
Jul 28 2004, 22:28
4.7 - Still doesnt like Tonal gets D3D Error - Out of Memory
4.6 - The card was stable and ok right upto loading Tonal/Large Mods then either an "Out of Memory/D3D error" or a CTD.
4.5 - "Greenscreen" error
4.3 - D3D Error or "Greenscreen" error

I will say it worked fine for everything else but only had a problem with LARGE ofp addons packs.

I kinda lost interest at that point and sent it back saying it wouldnt work with my equipment.

The only thing i can think of is that there is some inconsistancy with Sapphire and Asus boards - I was using an A7V8X-X with a Barton 2500+ and XP Pro.

Is there anyone you can ask to put the card in their machine to see if it works?  When I was having problems I asked around on some of the kit forums and a number of people had the same card with no problems - admittedly they didnt say that they played OFP. http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/sad_o.gif

Failing that try the line: "It wont work with my equipment and software - therefore its not fit for use." I dont know what the consumer laws are where you are but its gotta be worth a try?

Placebo
Jul 29 2004, 08:52
AGP Aperture size is set to 128mb or less? Without intending to insult your intelligence are you positive the -nomap parameter is in correctly? Have you tried uninstalling and installing again patching up to 1.96? Tried mod folders?

Dark[TM]
Jul 29 2004, 19:12
AGP Aperture size is set to 128mb or less?
how to set/change this ?

-nomap is on and -nosplash also.

and I have no addons.

Mister Frag
Jul 29 2004, 19:31
The only way to change this is through the BIOS. If you have a consumer-oriented PC such as a Dell, the BIOS may not allow you to change it.

Otherwise, try pressing DEL, F2, or F12 immediately after turning on or rebooting your PC, or look for a message somewhere on the screen that indicates how to enter the BIOS setup mode. In some BIOSes like the American Megatrends BIOS used by Gigabyte, you then need to press another key (Ctrl F1) to reveal advanced options.

Dark[TM]
Jul 29 2004, 20:32
I got a Custom PC.

RKSL-Rock
Jul 29 2004, 20:41
OK on startup you&#39;ll get the BIOS screen (Black with white text) Will say "Press Del to enter config" or similar.

Press the &#39;Del&#39; key until your bios config screen appears.

Usually there is a menu.

Standard
Advanced Features
Chipset Features
HD Detect
...etc.

In one of there sections will be an option to change your AGP Aperture size. Turn is down to 128 if its higher, else reduce it and see what happens.

You must save your settings on the menu before rebooting.

Good luck.

Dark[TM]
Jul 29 2004, 21:34
I got

-Advanced
-Chip Configuration
-Graphic Aperture at 64mb (should I make it 128mb?)

Got Windows XP Pro.

RKSL-Rock
Jul 29 2004, 21:47
Go for it...you can always change it back later if it all goes pear shaped.

Dark[TM]
Jul 29 2004, 22:47
Geez always having Problems...

Dark[TM]
Jul 29 2004, 22:50
It&#39;s the Videocard right ?

I did

-The AGP Thing.
-The Motherboard Drivers.
-Unstall/Reinstall Videocard Drivers

RKSL-Rock
Jul 29 2004, 23:20
It looks like it...

But, just clarify a few things a couple of questions:

Does the pc crash with anything else?

When it crashes does it just CTD or come up with a corrupted colour splash etc?

Since you installed the card have you tried getting OFP to autodetect the setup in the preferences? (You never know http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/wink_o.gif )

As for the drivers etc. As long as you have the latest graphics drivers, AGP port driver for your motherboard you should be OK. If it still CTD&#39;s I&#39;d be inclinded ot say it was the card mucking you about.

Can you ask anyone else to test it for you on another machine with a different mainboard/config?

Dark[TM]
Jul 29 2004, 23:21
Just tryed the Omega Drivers and it....


Dosen&#39;t work. http://forum.micro.info/images/smiles/icon_cry.gif

Gonna try to get a Change/Refund.

RKSL-Rock
Jul 29 2004, 23:32
Ok mate, atleast you tried&#33; Just avoid Spahhire http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/smile_o.gif I have to admit I wont buy another one.

turms
Jul 29 2004, 23:50
well i have sapphire 9600xt with no problems at all.. so tell me again, does it crash with other games also? have you checked the temperatures of your machine?

Mister Frag
Jul 30 2004, 00:38
well i have sapphire 9600xt with no problems at all.. so tell me again, does it crash with other games also? have you checked the temperatures of your machine?
According to one of his posts on the previous page the problem isn&#39;t limited to OFP, all games crash:


Quote[/b] ]Nevermind. It&#39;s my Bloody Videocard.

All of my Games crash now.

The other thing I would try is lowering the AGP transfer rate. Set it to 1x to see if the problem goes away, and if it does, raise it over time to 2x, 4x, then 8x (if supported) until the problem reappears.

RKSL-Rock
Jul 30 2004, 01:11
From the sound of it all i think hes done as much as he can (or is willing ot do). I found my problem was mostly limited to OFP but others seem to have had problems with this card before.

Ebuyer Feedback (http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/products/index.html?rb=1069047164&action=c2hvd19wcm9kdWN0X3Jldmlld3M=&product_uid=51532&offset=20) - This is where I got mine from and while the majority of people that bothered to add feedback 3 or 4 are/have had serious problems.

If you take a look at the Hardware geek sites (no link atm) they arent very nice about the card. No one seems to come up with a conclusive theory why these seem to work for some and not others but the popular choice is to ignore the 9600 and got for the 9600Pro or better.

Given the odds and the amount of time you&#39;ve spent faffing about I&#39;d try and get it swapped for something else.

Only my opinion though.

turms
Jul 30 2004, 01:17
Quote[/b] ]others seem to have had problems with this card before

I really havent seen 9600 related issues on this forum(dont know of other forums though) anymore than gforce xxxx issues, or other radeon cards in general.. There are few OFP bugs wich can be repaired, but i doubt that there would be a problem with ofp and 9600 sapphire.

Placebo
Jul 30 2004, 09:02
@<hidden> July 27 2004,21:00)]ASUS A7V333
Is it the A7V333 or A7V333-X?

IIRC Asus has a pretty handy windows based app for updating the bios, you&#39;ve download/installed the latest version? What about the Via 4in1 drivers, which version of them do you have? The latest VIA Hyperion drivers are 4.51 (http://www.viaarena.com/?PageID=403), give them a try http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/smile_o.gif

Dark[TM]
Jul 30 2004, 14:58
@<hidden> July 27 2004,21:00)]ASUS A7V333
Is it the A7V333 or A7V333-X

IIRC Asus has a pretty handy windows based app for updating the bios, you&#39;ve download/installed the latest version? What about the Via 4in1 drivers, which version of them do you have? The latest VIA Hyperion drivers are 4.51 (http://www.viaarena.com/?PageID=403), give them a try http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/smile_o.gif
It&#39;s the A7V333 Vanilla.

Got the VIA Drivers also.

I also got a Volcano 9 360watt and 2 Fans.

Dark[TM]
Jul 30 2004, 15:28
Given the odds and the amount of time you&#39;ve spent faffing about I&#39;d try and get it swapped for something else.
Don&#39;t have any money left...

and those other cards costs about 100&#036; more. -_-

Dark[TM]
Jul 30 2004, 18:49
-Tryed Cat&#39;s 4.7.
-Tryed Cat&#39;s 4.6.
-Tryed Omega Cat&#39;s 4.7.
-Reinstall Game&#39;s 5 Times.
-Format 2 Times.
-Install VIA 4-in-1 drivers.
-Install VIA PCI latency patch.
-Install ASUS A7V333 New Drivers.
-Install Logitech Mouse New Drivers.
-Tryed Setting AGP Graphic Aperture to 64mb and 128mb
-Unstalled/Installed Drivers 11 Times.
-Lowered Resolution and Refresh Rate.
-Lower Sound Acceleration


What does it do

-CTD (Crash to Desktop).
-Fatal Errors.

Happens
-When Playing Videogames

Tested on the Following Games
-OFP (Operation Flashpoint)
-UT2004 (Unreal Tournament 2004)
-BF42 (Battlefield 1942)
-BFV (Battlefield : Vietnâm)
-DOD (Day of Defeat)
-CS (Counter-Strike
-CSCZ (Counter-Strike : Condition Zero)
-HL (Half-life)


My PC Specifications
-AMD Athlon 2000xp + (1733mhz)
-1024 DDR/333 PC2700 Kingston Ram
-Sapphire ATi Radeon 9600 256mb (non-XT) (non-Pro)
-Windows XP Profesionnal
-60 GIG&#39;s Maxtor Hard-Drive
-ASUS A7V333
-Volcano 9 360watts
-2 Fans

Worked Great whit my old
-ATi Radeon 8500LE 128mb


------------------------------------------------
Verdict : I am getting the Pro Version http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/blues.gif
------------------------------------------------

Placebo
Jul 30 2004, 18:54
Any chance you can try your card in another PC? Only other thing I might suggest (if feasible) is a format and complete install from scratch, obviously that&#39;s a major hassle but good to do every once in a while http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/smile_o.gif

RKSL-Rock
Jul 30 2004, 18:54
Quote[/b] ]------------------------------------------------
Verdict : I am getting the Pro Version  
------------------------------------------------

LMAO Ok...methinks that card doesnt like your system no matter what we suggest....so...i think its perfect justifcation for upgrading http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/smile_o.gif

Dark[TM]
Jul 30 2004, 19:05
Any chance you can try your card in another PC? Only other thing I might suggest (if feasible) is a format
"Format 2 Times"

Another Time ? http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/crazy_o.gif

Dark[TM]
Jul 30 2004, 19:08
methinks that card doesnt like your system no matter what we suggest
I just don&#39;t want to Create another Topic :

"Having Problems whit 9600 pro 256mb"

Lmao. http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/tounge_o.gif

Placebo
Jul 30 2004, 19:32
@<hidden> July 30 2004,21:05)]
Any chance you can try your card in another PC? Only other thing I might suggest (if feasible) is a format
"Format 2 Times"

Another Time ? http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/crazy_o.gif
3rd time lucky as they say in England, or 3&#39;s a charm as they say in the US http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/wink_o.gif Just kidding, I missed that part of your post, humble apologies http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/smile_o.gif

Placebo
Jul 30 2004, 19:38
How much more would a Radeon 9800 cost you rather than a different 9600?

Dark[TM]
Jul 30 2004, 20:11
How much more would a Radeon 9800 cost you rather than a different 9600?
200&#036; for 9800 128mbpro.

70&#036; for 9600 256mb pro.

Unless you want to send me the Money, I&#39;l go for a 9600 pro. http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/tounge_o.gif

Dark[TM]
Jul 30 2004, 23:14
Just found out that isn&#39;t the Videocard.

DOD works great. Played for about 2 Hours.

turms
Jul 30 2004, 23:50
CPU temperatures?

Dark[TM]
Jul 31 2004, 00:43
After Reducing AGP to x2 OFP looks to work great &#33;

Dark[TM]
Jul 31 2004, 02:28
It looked...

Dark[TM]
Jul 31 2004, 02:54
Ok I found the problem. was Kegetys FX addon.

Edit : still going wrong.

Only in OFP.

Dark[TM]
Jul 31 2004, 03:27
Would be nice to have some Working links

http://www.flashpoint1985.com/cgi-bin....;t=2808 (http://www.flashpoint1985.com/cgi-bin/ikonboard301/ikonboard.cgi?act=ST;f=10;t=2808)

CPU Temperature at 60 Celcius or 140 Farenheit.

"Spitfire says that there&#39;s a BIOS setting that, if needs to be changed, might resolve your problem without going any further. Make sure that the BIOS "DRAM Clock" value is set to "HCLK" and not to "HCLK + PCICLK". Essentially what this does is to lower you RAM&#39;s clock speed to 100mhz. Just remember to set it back to what it should be once you&#39;re done installing or updating OFP."

Where do I find this in the BIOS (already searched.)

turms
Jul 31 2004, 13:52
Well your CPU temperature is way too high, that can crash the game also (happened to me often with my old CPU).
You should clean your heatsink from dust (if it hasnt been cleaned lately). If you dont know how to do this, buy a sixpack of beer (if you are over 18years), invite a friend who knows his computers in to your house and let him remove the heatsink+fan, clean it, and install it again.

Dark[TM]
Jul 31 2004, 16:21
well only makes OFP crash...

Dark[TM]
Jul 31 2004, 16:56
Just tryed whit AGPX1 and still does the same thing.

Would be nice to have some Working links

http://www.flashpoint1985.com/cgi-bin....;t=2808

RKSL-Rock
Jul 31 2004, 18:40
If you cant find it in your BIOS setting you maynot be able to change them. Some types of BIOS do not allow you to change everything

Dark[TM]
Jul 31 2004, 18:58
Just searched on Internet.

OFP dosen&#39;t like the 9600.

Dark[TM]
Jul 31 2004, 20:06
Ok, I just installed the my New BIOS drivers and OFP runs great&#33;

RKSL-Rock
Jul 31 2004, 21:07
Yay&#33;&#33;&#33; 5 pages later a result  http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/tounge_o.gif

turms
Aug 1 2004, 00:10
@<hidden> July 31 2004,21:58)]Just searched on Internet.

OFP dosen&#39;t like the 9600.
Nothing wrong with the 9600 then... http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/smile_o.gif im glad that you found the problem http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/smile_o.gif

ogre_h
Sep 1 2004, 20:58
I also have 2 Sapphire 9600 XT 256MB cards that crash with OFP (in different machines of course). They also had a problem with Halo, but Bungie released a new dll to fix that issue. Its not the cards, as they work with Ghost Recon Island Thunder, GTA3 Vice City, Jedi Academy, Knights of the Old Republic, and Tomb Raider Angel of Darkness.
Maybe the 4.9 drivers will help when they come out.

Gordy
Sep 1 2004, 22:26
use 4.8

ogre_h
Sep 1 2004, 23:29
No go with 4.8  http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/sad_o.gif
Its what I&#39;m using now, along with XP SP2 and DirectX 9.0c

Gordy
Sep 2 2004, 08:09
No go with 4.8  http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/sad_o.gif
Its what I&#39;m using now, along with XP SP2 and DirectX 9.0c
SP2, are you allright with your head? It is another system, not compatible with most of the software on the market. It has nothing to do with drivers. I am using it along with my DX 9.0c on 9800PRO and it works.

NKVD
Sep 2 2004, 14:55
I had Radeon 9800 Pro and had frequent CTDs (not STDs http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/smile_o.gif ) ...at one point I got so confused with driver version and what was happening then I got Nvidia 6800 - and so far not a single crash w/any new driver version..

ogre_h
Sep 2 2004, 20:13
Hey Gordy, SP2 is compatible with most software on the market. Like its predecessor its fairly stable, it crashes about as often as OS 10.3.5 on a G5 which is fairly rare. The two release candidates I tested DID have problems, most notably firewire support was non-existant, but those were fixed with the final release. Unitl I put the Radeon in my system everything worked fine with SP2. But I got tired of the Nvidia MX440 and wanted better graphics. OFP and Halo were the only two games I had that had problems with the COMBINATION of the 9600XT,SP2, and DX9.0c. I have had no problems with any application software, be it Office, Photoshop, Illustrator, SPSS, plus all the games I listed earlier, etc. with either video card and SP2. Bungie released a new binkw32.dll file for Halo and it looks awesome now.

Gordy
Sep 2 2004, 20:50
Hey Gordy, SP2 is compatible with most software on the market. Like its predecessor its fairly stable, it crashes about as often as OS 10.3.5 on a G5 which is fairly rare. The two release candidates I tested DID have problems, most notably firewire support was non-existant, but those were fixed with the final release. Unitl I put the Radeon in my system everything worked fine with SP2. But I got tired of the Nvidia MX440 and wanted better graphics. OFP and Halo were the only two games I had that had problems with the COMBINATION of the 9600XT,SP2, and DX9.0c. I have had no problems with any application software, be it Office, Photoshop, Illustrator, SPSS, plus all the games I listed earlier, etc. with either video card and SP2. Bungie released a new binkw32.dll file for Halo and it looks awesome now.
SP2 example of flawless software:

I am from Microsoft but I won&#39;t work with microsoft (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?kbid=842242)

ogre_h
Sep 2 2004, 21:57
Firewall configuration troubleshooting is interesting, but slightly off topic here  http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/wink_o.gif

Gordy
Sep 2 2004, 22:36
Firewall configuration troubleshooting is interesting, but slightly off topic here  http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/wink_o.gif
SP2 is not only security based. Its complexity may not only influence web based software but other 3-year old software. On list of vendors that should check their soft/hardware compatibility is also ATI.
More than 90% of problems with PC are caused by Windows soft and its setup.

ogre_h
Sep 3 2004, 14:21
Well if you want to bitch about Windows, SP2 etc, go right ahead, you win. It&#39;s not going to help this problem. I&#39;ll go somewhere else to solve it.

Gordy
Sep 3 2004, 14:33
Well if you want to bitch about Windows, SP2 etc, go right ahead, you win. It&#39;s not going to help this problem. I&#39;ll go somewhere else to solve it.
You assumed right away that it is a card related problem and you stick to it. I am trying to help you, looking at every possible angle.
What has changed since the last OFP run. Only drivers?

Placebo
Sep 3 2004, 15:06
Remember the primary reason for posting here is because we need help or we can offer help, let&#39;s all remain friends and do our best to help or be helped http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/smile_o.gif

Not aimed at anyone in particular, just a little reminder http://forums.bistudio.com/oldsmileys/smile_o.gif